Photo by Thomas Tucker on Unsplash

#0: Prelude

Kan Kante Hsieh
Taiwan A-Z
Published in
1 min readJun 17, 2022

--

Taiwan A-Z is about why/how one may love and hate Taiwan.

Being raised and growing up in Taiwan, I love and hate Taiwan at the same time. I would say that, after living in Europe for about ten years on and off, I hate this island more than I love it. Nevertheless, I believe I have to go beyond the love/hate issue or dichotomy and explore the multiple meanings behind or facets of the things, concepts, social issues, traditions, etc.

Therefore, this newsletter is intended to outline Taiwan from my perspective. I will try my best to depict this tiny country in a reflexive way.

I will also post the contents on a Substack newsletter with an identical name. Since I am still preoccupied with writing my doctoral thesis, I will try to produce a post every other week (or even longer, but ideally, every week).

Hope you will enjoy my love/hate issue with Taiwan!

--

--

Kan Kante Hsieh
Taiwan A-Z

Originally from Taiwan. Now mainly based in Frankfurt(M) as a Ph.D. student. Interests: Gramsci, and political geography. https://linktr.ee/kenkindaichi