[Key Takeaway]“It’s About Time, Data People”

Jack Tsai
Taiwanese Data Professionals
2 min readJun 13, 2018
Paul and Annette gave really nice talks! Photo Credit Chuan-Heng(Henry) Lin

I am Jack, a Python developer. I love working on marketing data and NYC open data. This is my first time to attend event hosted by the Taiwanese Data Professionals and would like to share my experience in this event “It’s About Time, Data People”. The topic of this month sounds pretty interesting to me, data in the fashion industry and Time data.

The first speaker, Annette Chiu, is a Marketing Data Analyst, and she was talking about how to apply data analysis in the fashion industry. The key takeaway for me is the basic concept of calculating the price of products and the python script. I learned the concept to optimize the marketing strategy. It is new for me to hear how to apply data analysis to the fashion industry.

Time, for me, looks simple but not easy to deal with in the data. Paul, a soft engineer from Bloomberg, provides a solution for DateTime in Python. When data analyst is exploring the data, she can use package dateutil to save a lot of time on changing time zone, and to parse string to datetime format. I would definitely use it when I face the time or string parsing problem.

It is worth attending meetups to build relationship, and contribute to the community. Exchanging different ideas and also building connections are also important for data professionals. I learn new data techniques and concept not only from speakers but also from the attendees. In this event, I spoke to a woman who specializes in applying the data analysis method on marketing strategy. I learned a lot from her.

=======================================

Jack is currently an data scientist in training @ NYU. Please feel free to reach out to him if you are looking to him!

Reviewed by Chuan-Heng(Henry) Lin / Robin Lee

--

--