Well hello anxiety, my old friend

Alicia Edquist
Take a Breath
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2020

Ugh.

What a year these seven days have been, am I right?

The news cycle is kicking my old friend anxiety into gear and I feel sick from the news.

On days like this my brain is a serious battlefield with one side creating chaos and the other side trying to quiet the chaos. Each side trying to win.

Living with anxiety isn’t easy. Yes, some days are more breezy but usually there is at least one fight in my brain a day.

The tug-o-war can be exhausting. Right now, I feel exhausted. Long day at work and the notifications started rolling through about missiles.

It started day 2 of the new year and now is in a full snowball going down the mountain into the valley of darkness where I currently want to lay down in the fetal position and pretend none of this is happening.

But let’s be real. It is happening. The fears are bubbled up to the very top of my glass and I’m about to spill over with all my anxieties pouring out.

See, I relate anxious thoughts to my safety. Not only my safety, but my family, friends, co-workers, and lets just say ENTIRE world.

When my safety or others safety is compromised my anxiety runs wild.

Current thoughts —

  1. I am unsettled and uncomfortable with the events in the world.
  2. I am terrified for my loved ones safety.
  3. Can I get out of bed tomorrow and go to work? (This is a serious question)
  4. Will we go to war or encounter something here in the states?
  5. Can I breathe? (Breath is important)
  6. What can settle my thoughts?
  7. Do I need a social media/news fast? (This is a hard one…I work in the industry)

Those are just snippets of my brain at the current moment.

My good friend who is awfully loyal, old anxiety is just waiting to see how my thoughts pan out.

How I deal with it.

My stomach is a mess. I get physical anxiety with my anxiety. Isn’t it grand? Not just one but two ways to feel anxiety.

This may sound like a very off the cuff post and it is. My anxiety is up and I am process it through.

I don’t have all the answers to anxiety. I am still learning so much about it and myself. But one thing I do know is that if you have anxiety or are anxious about the events in the world right now, you are not alone.

I’m here. I’m processing all the things too. I have fears, doubts, concerns and anxious thoughts. My old friend anxiety is currently keeping me company and I hope to send it packing soon.

But for now.

Just for now.

Let’s breathe.

In through your nose.

Out through your mouth.

We will get through each little moment together.

Keep breathing. ❤️ There is light.

--

--

Alicia Edquist
Take a Breath

Daughter. Wife. Mom. Friend. Journalist. Journalism Instructor. STORYTELLER. Beach Lover.