Incredible Flight

Landing, flapping, gliding: a selection of my best photos of birds up in the air

Ray Hennessy
Vantage

--

I was lucky enough to catch the Blue Jay (above) coming in for a landing at my parents’ bird feeder. The action was frozen with two off camera flashes — one to the right in front and a second down and behind on the left. Equipment and set up plays its part in capturing great photos but so does long hours out in the field.

It pays off though. I’m humbled by some of the graceful things I’ve witnessed in nature. I made some nice frames too. I have been watching and photographing birds for years. I’m still amazed by their acrobatics and grace. I wanted to share a few of my best bird images and hopefully inspire you to go out and observe these amazing animals on the wing too.

I’ve captioned each image with more info. Enjoy!

This female Ruby-Throated Hummingbird flew right up to my face to check me out while I was shooting in my parent’s back yard. I was not ready for such a close approach so I managed to find the bird in the lens all out of focus, mashed the shutter button, and got 1 frame off before she bolted. The camera really did it’s job and nailed the focus on this lovely little bird.
A Snowy Egret taking off at Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge in Brigantine, NJ.
An Atlantic Puffing trying to land on the crowded rocks at Machias Seal Island.
A Forsters Tern cruising over the water looking for fish at Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge in Brigantine, NJ.
A huge White Pelican coming in for a landing in Sebastian, FL.
A Herring Gull takes off as the sun rises over the ocean at Barnegat Light, NJ
This Double-Crested Cormorant makes quite the commotion as it takes off in the water at Trap Pond State Park in Laurel, DE.
A Ring-Billed Gull was feeding in the waters at Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge in Brigantine, NJ.
One of my favorite flight shots, this Ring-Billed Gull looked as though it was dancing on the water as the early morning sun lit up the fog at Conowingo Dam, MD.
One of the most acrobatic fliers I’ve ever seen, this Barn Swallow is hunting for flying insects over the water at John Heinz National Wildlife Refuge in Philadelphia, PA.
The sometimes goofy looking American Oystercatcher gently touches down on the beach at Cape May State Park, NJ.
With the sun getting high in the sky and the light getting a bit harsh I tried for something a bit dramatic. I also like how this portrays the tiny size of these Ruby-throated Hummingbirds. Taken in my parent’s back yard with just available light.
One of the most incredible flying birds I’ve ever witnessed, this Greater Shearwater can cruise over the waves out at sea at fast speeds all while making it look completely effortless. Taken approximately 10 miles off the coast of Lewes, DE.
An immature Bald Eagle flies into the early morning sun as the fog hangs over the river at Conowingo Dam, MD.
One of the most striking looking birds, this Razorbill is coming in to land on Machias Seal Island off the coast of Maine.
This great blue heron dragged it’s wingtip in the water on almost every down beat on the takeoff. Trap Pond Delaware.
A Roseate Spoonbill flies past while traveling back and forth from a rookery. Taken in Fellsmere Florida.
For some inexplicable reason this Red-tailed Hawk decided to fly directly towards me after being spooked up by another birder. Taken at Forsythe National WIldlife Refuge in Brigantine NJ.
A huge flock of Northern Shovelers take off at John Heinz National Wildlife Refuge in Philadelphia, PA.
An adult Northern Gannet flies over the Atlantic Ocean miles from the shore of Lewes, DE.

Ray Hennessy is a professional wedding and portrait photographer based in Clementon, NJ. Nature photography takes up swathes of his spare time. Follow Ray on Flickr, 500px, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Follow Vantage on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. If you enjoyed reading this, please click “Recommend” below. This will help to share the story with others.

--

--

Ray Hennessy
Vantage

Nature photographer for fun and wedding photograph for a living. www.rayhennessy.com