USA, 2016

Sam Hallebone
Take Off
Published in
3 min readMay 6, 2017
Statue of Liberty, New York City

2016 marked a big year of travel for me and this began in June when I went with my family to the Unites States for a month’s holiday. In the American summer we went from LA to Las Vegas, San Francisco, New York, Washington D.C. and finally New Orleans with my brother. Fantastic USA, the diabetic homeland.

I thought that of all the places on earth a diabetic could travel the USA would be the most convenient and I was not disappointed. A bittersweet fact is that diabetes is commonplace in the States but for travelling Aussies it affords convenience and peace of mind. Yet, even in America there were natural hinderances and differences that made diabetes care slightly trickier than at home.

Airport security and US customs are particularly strict. This should have no bearing on your diabetes as most airport staff will be familiar with diabetes but do not be alarmed if they swab your pump or needles to test for narcotics. I would advise bringing a doctor’s note explaining the importance of your supplies just in case, however I not once needed to show mine.

As I was travelling with my parents I was fortunate enough to be staying in hotels for the bulk of my trip. It goes without saying that private hotel rooms offer greater security than a hostel but the flip side of this was that fridges were slightly more difficult to come by. Of course keeping ones insulin cool, particularly in summer, is of paramount importance. However a hallmark of many hotels are minibars. Despite their frequency, minibars in the States aren’t always as convenient as they may first appear. There are two small issues I encountered with minibars. First, in a few of the hotels we stayed in, we had to have the minibar unlocked when we arrived. This is almost a non-issue as they were always opened quickly and without question. The second issue however is one to watch out for. In many hotels the minibars use weight sensors to charge for drinks and snacks. So when you store your insulin be careful to avoid knocking over any of the goods already in the fridge as many hotels have a strict policy when it comes to charging for these items. In reality these are tiny annoyances that shouldn’t affect you much if at all.

Bourbon St, New Orleans

One preconception that I had that was proven wrong was that pharmacies would stock a huge range of supplies from different manufacturers. Instead I found that Accu-Check was the dominant brand for glucometers and strips. I’m sure you would be able to find your desired brand if you looked hard enough however this was now the third country I encountered that had a clear preference for this brand. For this reason I would strongly advise anyone with an Accu-Check meter to bring it when travelling anywhere, not just the United States. It goes without saying that sugar and food are everywhere in the States so you should have no issue locating both low and high glycemic index foods in any part of the country.

The last thing I will say about my trip is that America in the summer is bloody hot. We so often hear of the blistering heat of an Australian summer but I can tell you now that many parts of America are equally as hot in June and July with many places pushing high 30s and 40 degrees celsius. This means you may find your sugars drop quicker than normal so keep this in mind when you’re out and about.

After it’s all said and done I can confidently say that the USA was the smoothest experience I have had travelling with diabetes. My biggest piece of advise for the States would be to communicate well. The vast majority of Americans will be understanding and helpful concerning diabetes so don’t hesitate to voice any concerns. Hotel and airport staff will be accomodating and friendly. Pack well and communicate well and you will have the time of your life.

--

--