Where do I belong in between Life and Death ?

Belavadi Prahalad
Takeaway-chuck
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2017

Prelude: My grandfather passed away exactly a year ago due to cancer in Bangalore, India while I was juggling work, college and responsibilities of a homemaker in Santa Monica, United States of America.

It was just another sunny day, when I got back from work and got on the phone to talk to my mother.

“He’s no more”, She said crying.
“What ma” I asked.
She replied,“He passed Away” almost choking.

I took a moment to recall all the fond memories we had together.
He didn’t talk much, my Grandfather.
A man of poise and a great vision.
I looked up to him for advice and encouragement which goes without saying that a lot of who I am today as a person is due to him.

Despite all the promising memories I recalled of him being around, I had trouble digesting the fact that he was no more.

“Why didn’t you tell me before ma ?” I asked.
“I didn’t want it to affect you” she replied.

As much as I was distraught not to have known about this beforehand, I had no clue what to do.
I felt lost and confused. Mainly, vulnerable.

How do I change it ?
What can I do now ?

Underneath all that emotional turmoil, the only question that remained was

What can I do ?

There simply wasn’t an option that could bring him back from the dead.

I understood that there were other things that demanded my immediate attention.

Were they important ? Yes.
Were they more Important than my Grandfather ? A certain No.

Before I headed into the bullshitting myriad of philosophies revolving around existence and death, Here’s where I decided to draw the line between life and death to face this situation:

The impact he made while he was with us, the repercussions of his actions which help numerous people lead happy lives today, likely the impact he had on my life; He hasn’t gone away, He’s very much alive, within us.

We might not see or hear him today, but he lives amongst us in our belief and conscience for he made me who I am today, He made me a better person to lead the world.
I owe him a massive debt and this is one that can’t be repaid with all of my credit cards combined.
I vow to pay every bit back by sustaining his ideals and morals for the betterment of the world for it’s what he’d have wanted me to do.

It’s a mission to pay back a debt by doing good to our world.

Among the initiatives I’ve undertaken to pay back this humongous debt are the following:
1. Donate Blood for research and those in need.
2. Resources for Better Education.
3. Sincerity to build better long lasting relationships while we live.
4. Empower people to lead better fruitful lives.
5. Help people see the world in a better positive sense.
6. Worthwhile Donations to those in need.
7. Social Upliftment.

I intend on staying the course on my mission for there isn’t any going back.
We exist with a mission and I believe this is mine, to leave the world a better place than I found it.

If I ever grow the audacity to falter, I bring it upon this world to correct me.

The Script.

I draw the line between Life and Death between what you do to leave behind a legacy of good faith, belief, sincere respect and gratitude.

My Grandfather, Dr. KV Ramachandra is very much alive for he left behind a legacy, a legacy encompassing both humanitarian and scientific feats.

Where do you draw your line ?

Prahalad Belavadi.

--

--