One Assignment at a Time

Haley Lang
Taking a Minute to Breathe
2 min readSep 26, 2017

Last blog I discussed the technique of focusing on one assignment at a time. By doing this, people step away from their minds constantly running when thinking about all they have to accomplish. This personally, has always been one of my biggest downfalls. Instead of just doing one thing at a time, and doing it well, ill use up all my time panicking, and never end up accomplishing anything.

Sunday, I planned a list of the three things I needed to accomplish by monday.

1. Create a new blog post for MGG 303.

2. Do my online graded Accounting Hw due Monday at 2:00 pm.

3. Study for my public health test Tuesday on chapters 1–12.

I organized them in this order, order of importance, and I only took out the materials needed for the assignment I was doing at the time. By blocking out the other assignments I wasn’t currently working on, and putting all my attention into one project, I was able to get through it more efficiently, with a huge decrease in stress. Obviously with any skill, practice is what will really help you see improvement. One time isn’t going to make all your stress go away. I found myself every once and a while thinking about my test and when I did I began to worry that I hadn’t left enough time to study. When these thoughts traveled into my head, I had to be strong enough to push them out, and stay focused on the task at hand.

With any technique, you are going to have to practice, and you are going to have to focus on the basic phrase, “mind over matter”. People can give you all the techniques in the world, but in order to really excel at them, you have to be able to push yourself even when you want to give into old habits. My classmate Matt Maggiacomo defines stress in his blog post as “the relationship between the person and the environment”. He then states with this definition that “stress is inside of us and is caused by us”. I thought this was very important and interesting to note when talking about mind over matter because it proves that we are in control. We determine how we will react to situations, whether it be an overload of projects or long work hours, and if we can remember that we are in control, we are one step closer to being able to manage our stress in a more efficent way.

Citations:

Maggiacomo, Matt. (2017, September 26). Meditation for Stress Management. [Stress Management and How it Can Benefit You] Retrieved from https://medium.com/stress-management-and-how-it-can-benefit-you/meditation-for-stress-management-5346f7b2814b.

--

--