Overcoming Stress

Haley Lang
Taking a Minute to Breathe
2 min readSep 21, 2017

Hi everyone. My names Haley and I’m a sophomore at the University at Buffalo. I’m a business administration major with a double concentration in marketing and human recourses. I have decided to research and become an expert on the skill of stress management. Growing up I have always been so self disciplined when it came to doing work and being successful, almost too much at times. I placed such high expectations for myself, so I always overloaded myself with more than I could handle, leading to constant stress, and many break downs.

Once we graduate and go on to our real career’s the stress levels will only get higher. I think in order to truly be successful we need to be able to manage out stress in a healthy way so we can produce quality work, and not let our emotions get in the way of our jobs. Work is inevitable and something everyone has to do if they plan on living a reasonable lifestyle. Although money isn’t everything you do need it to be able to provide for yourself and loved ones, so you might as well spend your time with a career that you enjoy.

I feel like often people let the stress get to them with the unexpected deadlines and the millions of projects their managers throw at them, and this stress leads to individuals hating their jobs. There are many different healthy techniques to deal with stress management. They can be as simple as taking a minute to stop and doing a breathing exercise to slow your mind down, or it could be something more complicated like, keeping a daily journal of all your stresses, so you are able to identify them and come up with a solution to deal with them. Depending on who you are, what specific technique you use will be different.

With my research I hope to learn about a variety of different techniques so that all different individuals have various options to chose from so they have one that works for them. I also want to educate myself on how stress really effects our quality of work. In my experience personally, stress produces crappy work. But is that different for everyone? Is there people who use stress to their advantage?

Over the next two weeks I will learn about stress management and then put my research into action by trying new things, for example, trying a new technique I might have not tried before. I will also practice repetition often, because I feel like the more you do something, the better the effect it will have. For me, and for anyone interested in stress management, everything will be trial and error, finding what works for you. I’m excited to learn more about this skill and I hope I am able to find new ways to deal with my stress, and eventually prepare myself for my future career.

--

--