The Value of Exercise

Haley Lang
Taking a Minute to Breathe
2 min readOct 1, 2017

Whenever you’re experiencing a moment of high stress, engaging in some type of physical activity is sure to have a positive effect on these stress levels. In the book, “The Stress Management Sourcebook”, author J. Barton Cunningham states that, “exercise provides an opportunity for feeling good, being stimulated, and being challenged”. (Cunningham, 1997) When your mind is crazy and you can’t grasp control, being stimulated is a great thing to bring your mind back to ease.

When you experience stress, many physical responses happen to your body including, “more oxygen is required, the heart rate increases, muscles tense, and blood pressure increases”. (Cunningham, 1997) By exercising, you allow your body to decrease blood pressure, muscle tension, and you relate the increase in heart rate and the need for more oxygen to positive energy instead of stress. One of the biggest benefits of exercising is that it improves your ability to relax and sleep, two very important aspects when fighting stress.

When I refer to exercise, I do not mean that when you get stressed at your desk during the work day that you should pick up and leave to go on a 7 mile run. Something as simple as a walk is considered exercise. For me personally, my favorite type of exercising is running. Thursday I was in the library from 9:30 am to 8 pm and towards the end of the night I was becoming so overwhelmed and stressed from being there all day, I knew I needed a break.

I decided to leave the library and come home and go for a run. By getting out and putting my focus on something else I was able to completley calm down and ease my mind. Next time, I think I would leave the library sooner to run, that way I could also go back and do more after I give my mind time to relax. The only mistake I made with this technique was not implementing it sooner. It is has now been proven that exercise is the best medicine.

Citations:

Cunningham, J. (1997) The Stress Management Sourcebook. Los Angeles, CA. NTC/Contemporary Publishing Group.

--

--