Willingness vs. Ability

A tale of those who do and those who don’t

David McGraw
Action Required

--

Ever notice that everything comes down to a willingness to take action.

I can’t help but notice most people have lots of ability to do things. They have tremendous knowledge and skills. Unfortunately, they lack the willingness to act.

They have a bias towards inaction. They are full of excuses for why they can’t do something. They lack motivation and a want to be a player in their own life.

Look around you, what do you see?

I bet you see two types of people. Those who do and those who don’t. Those who need permission and those who do not.

Which one are you?

Are you the guy who is predisposed to take action or are you the spectator? Are you the guy waiting for opportunities or making your own?

It’s not enough to know how or have the ability to do something. We must be willing to take action. Having the ability to is utterly useless without wanting to do so.

A bias towards action is what will drive you to successfully get what you want.

Do you have a bias towards action or inaction?

Will you seek the important questions or answers? Will you find joy from your responsibility? Will you commit to getting naked and run free?

Are you willing to do what it takes? Will you realize your potential?

The old adage, “Where there is a will, there is a way” only works if you have a willingness to take action.

Actions come in all shapes and sizes. They range from big bold radical moves to small micro shifts in direction. Big or small, action pushes us in a positive way.

If you are not feeling it or stuck, you might need a comfort zone busting action. I’ve experienced a few of those. At the time, I didn’t think I needed them, but I did.

I needed to learn new ways to take action for myself. I needed to learn to trust myself and take risks. Armed with that knowledge, I was still unwilling to escape the safety of my comfort zone to do what I wanted.

Trapped in a cycle of inaction, I could not muster the will to change my patterns of behavior.

Big changes came my way and my safe and comfortable lifestyle was no longer there. I was forced to dig deep. I took a chance on me and found a new willingness to go after what I wanted.

I began to learn how to shift from a state of inaction into a bias towards action. This is perhaps greatest lessons I’ve attempted to learn. I say attempted because learning never ends. There is always more to learn.

Shockwaves come and go. What was uncomfortable becomes comfortable again. Normality is the best friend to our resistance to action.

A willingness to take action is the only way to weaken this friendship and build a strong relationship with action.

Life is not a spectator sport, it’s an action sport.

Would you buy a ticket to be a spectator to your life? How many tickets do you think you could sell? Does the main player want to re-up his contract or does he disparately want to be traded?

Today is the day you get to show yourself you are strong and powerful. Today is the day you will no longer unable to do so. Today is the day you are willing to take action.

What are you unconditionally willing to do to make things happen?

--

--

David McGraw
Action Required

Versatile Innovative Business Coach and Advisor to Entrepreneurs, Non-Profits, and Small Businesses. Creating change one conversation at a time.