Run a mile and grab a smile

There’s no miracle for feeling happy, but wait there’s running… 

Mariam Guizani
Taking Care

--

Yes that’s it, that’s the happiness miracle: running. It sounds odd but running makes people happier.

How is that possible? Well running or exercising releases endorphin in the brain. The main job of endorphin is to mask physical pain.

Endorphin is also responsible for the great feeling you get after running.

You know that point where you feel like you can keep going forever, well that would be endorphin too or what is known as a “runner’s high”.

The secret behind the fact that runners keep on their jogging schedule is that they know how running makes them joyful, they have felt it.

I am not saying that your first runs would be easy and painless, hell no but they certainly will if you keep going on without giving up after the first running aches. I've been through that.

I would recommend a large list of power songs and a good running app to make your runs more pleasant.

Nike+ running app

The app I am using right now is the Nike+ running. Having this app or an equivalent one (and there are a bunch of them in the market) is important as it keeps track of the distance you run, your fastest and your longest run.

It’s interesting especially for a newbie like me to set goals and keep track. In fact it would be easier for you to go for your second run when you know you have already made half a mile and you feel like this time you want to run a whole mile. Working toward a goal is always better then doing something for no obvious reason, your brain needs a clear goal to keep going on.

Running could be your “time for me” thing. You’ll be surprised how pleasant it is after a long day of work, of over-thinking or whatever you are doing to just turn off your brain, have some good music playing, and just run until you get tired of it.

A picture taken with a running app

Maybe you are the “I’m busy” kind of person, well that’s what was my excuse for the last four years, and I can assure you that jogging made me more productive. I always feel better after having an outdoor running, getting some good sleep and starting the next day with a whole new energy and a happier mood.

Even better I always tend to look at things differently or from another perspective after a run. For example if I am stack in my work I know I just need to go for a run and figure it out later. It’s always better than keeping staring at it for hours and feeling bad for not finding the answer.

Also if your need to be more creative and think outside the box, well running could clear up your mind and maybe new great ideas will show up.

Additionally if y’re planning on starting to exercise, well running is the easiest, cheapest and simplest sport for a start.

I could keep going on and on about all the great things that I found out when starting to run regularly but it would be better for you to just stop reading this article, grab your jogging shoes and go have some fun run.

--

--

Mariam Guizani
Taking Care

Computer Science PhD student, loves photography, reading and running. Smiling is the greatest way of living @mariam_gui