Why I Quit Using ToDo List

And what Am I Doing Instead?

Andy Sporring
Taking Notes

--

Photo by Eden Constantino on Unsplash

This might sound strange for many of you, my readers, but I quit using ToDo lists (and apps) about six months ago. There is a short reason for it and a longer one.

The short reason is that the to-do list didn’t fit into my workflow any longer when I looked at it. As noted, many of my tasks were done the same day, and there were almost no long-tail to-dos.

Why Quit Using ToDo Lists?

The longer reason is; From being an avid ToDoIst user for many years, the less work I had to do, the more the pressure to use that ToDo list grew.

Until one day, I said to myself; Andy, time to take the training wheels off and fly freely!

For the first weeks, it was a bit scary. Did I miss anything? Did I stumble and fall? Nervously avoiding checking my Old ToDo’s, I can tell you I felt like an addict whining about an addiction. And in a way, self-control can be very addictive too.

Starting week three, without any ToDo list, I felt released, and my productivity increased. My articles began to improve, and my general mental health increased. Did I miss anything important? No, I don’t think so.

Another positive side effect is that my memory started to improve when I let go of my…

--

--

Andy Sporring
Taking Notes

Multipassioned Creative Digital Writer | PKM & Notetaking Expert | Pod & Atomicaster | Composer | Author