Bernay, France

Men.21times@gmail.com
Taking Off
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2022

--

Matt Hardy

Perhaps it was Normandy which brought the town to dream, or life before this one. Who is to say if my home prior or just another nights visit in mind alone.

Loving flowers and those who have vision to capture them, I should make mention of Claude Monet’s home and garden in Giverny village which is within 1.5 hours of Bernay. As you would expect, the garden is exquisite, especially in May. You might think you are within Monet’s art as some of the scenes you will walk have met canvas. The Japanese arch bridge, has a place in my heart.

Rouen Cathedral is said to have the highest minarets in France, I have never witnessed Notre Dame in Paris but I suspect if you have, this cathedral will not disappoint you. Gothic art live for you to breathe in, Monet’s presence would not surprise me here, a favorite theme of his from what I understand, I mean dream. I think there was mention of the tomb of Richard the Lionhearted, do I have your attention yet? About an hours travel from Giverny by bus or train.

While I am confident there is much more for you to experience if physically present, what I have mentioned is what I remember from my dream. My second of France, the first also in the Normandy area, the town of which I have already forgotten. But I do remember the street shop where I purchased flowers, and the American style coffee.

Oh wait, I stand corrected, I did have another not far from the Eiffel, a sad adventure I much rather forget.

I would be the first to admit all three of these dreams could be nothing more than trigger after watching too many PBS travel shows. Perhaps just memory of readings on a travel URL, yes of course that must be it. What is crazy about this all is my utter dislike of history in general, once I realized we were learning little from it, reliving prior mistakes, I lost interest.

I would like to counter that much of what I watch foreign land wise is relative to Italy not France. With exception to the brits who are remodeling a French castle.

Either way the pressed duck in brown gravy was tremendous, and the ultimate diet plate I might add as dreams are without calories.

The dream has made me curious, if any of you have visited or lived in the areas mentioned please tell me more. Most importantly I would be interested in your thoughts on why this area might hold importance outside war, art, religion. Just seems odd I would think of this area more than once.

PS: I don’t remember a thing about the Monet house, I am a terrible tourist.

Meanwhile-May your travels exceed my dreams.

--

--

Men.21times@gmail.com
Taking Off

Patient of life, attempting to heal oneself by Quill. Transitioning from a profession of technology.