TRAVEL|TAKING OFF

Best Things I’ve Learned by Living Abroad

Karen Toralba
Taking Off
Published in
3 min readApr 28, 2022

--

Beach in Krabi, Thailand. Photo credit Karen Toralba.

I am an American who has lived overseas for over 13 years. When I think of myself when I first arrived, I get very annoyed with that person. Even though I chose to open myself to a new culture, I still was very close-minded.

In the meantime, I have learned to adapt to life as an expat in a country where I still struggle with the language, weather, and of course, driving. However, I have also learned to adopt cultural aspects that just make life better.

Spoons!

In Thailand, people eat rice dishes with a fork and spoon — and not a little spoon, a big spoon. I’m right handed, so I hold the spoon in my right hand and push food on it with the fork in my left hand. What a revelation! The rice doesn’t fall off! The spoon can also be used in a similar fashion as a knife to cut meats or to make smaller bites. Even when I visit America, I still eat with a spoon because it just makes sense. I don’t even care if anyone looks at me funny because eating rice with a fork is dumb.

Umbrellas!

I carry an umbrella all year round because even when it’s not rainy season, then the sun is shining, and who wants to get burned? Thais use an umbrella in both rainy and sunny weather, and I think this is just a great idea.

No Shoes!

Thais do not wear shoes in temples, some businesses, and in their houses, among other places. Feet are the bottom part of the body, both physically and spiritually, so they are not clean and can be downright offensive. How do you know when to take your shoes off? Look outside and see if other people have taken their shoes off. With this, I don’t wear shoes in my house. When you think about bringing in all the grimy things your shoes have picked up and then you’re walking all that around your house, it’s quite gross.

Save Face!

Asia in general has a “save face” mentality in that you shouldn’t shame someone, especially in public. While I had never made a habit of shaming anyone, I have learned to rephrase something so that the other person may feel more encouraged and not reprimanded.

Share!

When I first arrived, I saw a person at a party pile his plate with cookies, and I thought, how rude to get that many! Then he went to his group of friends and put the plate in the middle. Oh, okay then. And, just the other day, a group of my colleagues ate together, both Thai and international staff. Plates of food came at different times (that’s normal), and a Thai woman started cutting her portion and putting it on her friends’ plates. They did the same when their food came. They shared. Lovely.

Dip!

When two people are having a conversation, and I can’t go around, I dip down so as not to interrupt. I never thought about this in America, but in Thailand, it’s rude to just walk between two people talking.

While this list is not exhaustive, it does hold some special cultural aspects that I feel are better than what I did before.

--

--

Karen Toralba
Taking Off

Top Writer in Social Media. I write fictional stories, writing tips, travel blurbs, and other random pieces.