EDUCATION|ENTERTAINMENT|TIME TRAVEL

Years When Television Was My Babysitter And I Was A “Latchkey Kid”

These are the top (and terrific) shows that helped shape my character and guide me into young adulthood

KL Simmons
Taking Off
Published in
7 min readJan 13, 2022

--

Me circa 1986 or so.

The above photo is a terrible photo of me, but it’s the only one I have with me showing my house key around my neck.

A latchkey kid, or latchkey child, is a child who returns to an empty home after school or a child who is often left at home with no supervision because their parents are away at work. The child can be any age, alone or with siblings. -Wikipedia

My mom was a single parent who worked a full-time job, and sometimes, she worked a part-time job for extra money.

She moved away from South Philadelphia, where most of my family lived, to North Philly, which is where one of…

--

--

KL Simmons
Taking Off

Seeking improvement as a writer and human. Email: KLSimmons.medium@gmail.com. Owner of the publications: Taking Off, Pure Fiction and Interracial Relations.