AWS re:Invent 2014 Wrap Up #reinvent

Takumi Sakamoto
Takumi Sakamoto’s Blog
3 min readNov 21, 2014
Registration

As most of you know, AWS re:Invent 2014 took place last week in Las Vegas, Nevada. This was my first re:Invent, and it was far more wonderful than what I expected. I learned tons of knowledge from various sessions, talked to a lot of brilliant people. The best part is, I enjoyed staying one of the most luxurious hotel in the world :D

Sessions

Keynote

I was really excited to hear some good announcements of AWS’s new services, especially about Amazon Aurora and Amazon Lambda. Both services seem truly full-managed services that enable developer to focus on their business logic. For example, Amazon Aurora automatically grows the size of volume as our database storage needs grow while current Amazon RDS requires manual operation for expanding its volume size. And we can replace most of complex job-queue system into simple one by Amazon Lambda. I hope more and more services will become truly full-managed for the next couple of years. (Personally, I want a full-managed container-based distributed job scheduler.)

Networking

https://twitter.com/chartio/status/532997596294696960

Our company have introduced some SaaS last few months. For example, we use Chartio for visualising our key metrics and Datadog/PagerDuty for monitoring our application. At AWS re:Invent Central, I met some members of such companies and discussed their product. I was very happy to know that they had already started to resolve some issues I worry about. I’m looking forward to releasing new features I requested in the near future.

Other photos

Room
Rib Eye Steak
re:Play (official party)
High Roller
Las Vegas

I really enjoyed the conference and Las Vegas a lot. I hope I can come back again next year.

--

--