#MeetTala: Get to know Rose Muturi, Country Manager of Tala Kenya

Tala Kenya
Tala
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2017

Building on an exciting career rising through the ranks at Standard Chartered Bank, and in roles leading product development and strategy at Chase Bank and TransUnion, respectively, Rose Muturi joins Tala as our Kenya Country Manager!

Rose was named one of Kenya’s Top 40 Women Under 40 in Business Daily, and we are excited to bring her experience, insight and sense of humor to our team and to our customers in Kenya and East Africa. Read on to find out more about Rose and say hi to her on Twitter @ShikoKinuthia!

If I could describe myself in one word, I would choose…
Optimistic

I wanted to join Tala because…
Kenya [is] the pioneer and largest market for Tala. The opportunity was appealing to me because where Tala is positioned is the future of financial services and I am happy to be a part of this exciting journey. I am also very excited about the aggressive growth strategy Tala has.

Tala is changing financial services in Kenya by…
Venturing into unchartered territory. Tala is offering financial services to a target that was never on any radar financially and conventional lenders were skeptical about this target segment.

Through innovation and cutting edge technology, and also tapping into the access to mobile money services in our market, Tala has become a market leader in this space and consumers are becoming increasingly confident in the brand.

Tala is different from others in the market because…
What differentiates us is the innovation, especially in the scoring of customers. Also the ease of use of the app.

Rose pictured with Shivani Siroya, CEO, Tala

Three years from now I see Tala as…
The market leader in Africa for Financial Inclusion and Access to Credit.

I am involved in the…
Alumni Association for my high school, so we are called upon to speak to the girls and enable them to make better decisions for their future both personally and academically. I am also the the chairlady of our residents association, ensuring processes are running smoothly and the area is a great place to live for all ages.

My hobbies are….
I enjoy traveling, reading and swimming. Learned how to swim last year!

I can be found on holiday in…
Diani. Those sandy white beaches are quite something.

--

--