Spring Newsletter | 2019

Ricky Argenbright
Tales Around the Mana Pool
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readMar 12, 2019

Changes as we Spring forward!

Hola!

I hope no one was late to school, or work, or your other mandates after the time rolled forward.

This year I’ve debated several different things along this ever-so-winding path of a career choice.

One, was whether I wanted to publish at the start of the year 2020 or not.

Two, was whether I have the ability to continue this as a viable career or not.

And three, was figuring out (if in number Two I decided I wasn’t a complete hack) how to divide my time to do all the writing related things that I want to do with a full-time job.

The first two answers were relatively simple. No, so that I can build more practice, and yes, because I’m not a hack (yay!). The third one was really the problem here.

As I’ve written for nearly an entire year now (new post for my series Drafts and Dreams coming soon), I find myself reflecting on the path I’ve taken, and what I’ve been able to accomplish, or not accomplish, in taking said path. One of the decisions I’ve reached is that I need to be more finite with my blogging time.

As a novelist primarily, I become completely engrossed in my story and get through very short distances by the end of the day. Even with a large word count of good writing, it’s simply the way of things (that was nearly a Way of Kings pun). Coming up on nearly three novel drafts completed has shown me that it indeed is possible to not only write one, but it is entirely possible to write more than one, in my lifetime. Several of my own personal goals were accomplished this year because of it. That’s always good.

But one of the things I want to do is try to maintain my focus on one or two projects at a time rather than a whole house full. The amount that I tried to take on last year while completing my novels was an exorbitant amount. Most of them were swiftly ignored in favor of what I wanted to get done, of course, but I’d like to plan that sort of focus from now on. One of the ways I plan on doing this is by reducing the amount of newsletters I write.

Maybe that’s a good thing for you, or maybe you’re upset because this is one of the few things you look forward to each month. I doubt it, but who am I to judge?

It should be beneficial for me as far as time spent goes, and I think I will have enough updates every few months to add more value to the quarterly than my monthly issues have had.

Do not fret! I still plan on adding more value to the Tales of the Mana Pool here on Medium. I have not abandoned that project! I’ve just been swept up by nearly completing this trilogy that I set out to complete almost a year ago. I imagine that after I have finished it, I will take a short interlude before I start the next one and write up a few good additions to the publication.

Be excited.

If you haven’t, I highly recommend catching up with what I have going on as far as writing specifics go through the January and February 2019 Newsletters. I will not be adding any of those here because they have not changed.

Final words: Thank you to those who have been following along with my story about how I’m a writer that’s writing books even though there’s literally no proof of it whatsoever. It’s a thing, I just can’t show you yet. I greatly look forward to releasing said written things in the future so that you might know that I wasn’t lying. And perhaps, you may enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them.

For now, enjoy your spring. Keep your eyes peeled for new additions to Tales Around the Mana Pool this coming quarter, and I will see you in June for the Summer Newsletter!

--

--

Ricky Argenbright
Tales Around the Mana Pool

Slave✝️ | Developer💻 | Storyteller📜 | Drummer🥁 | Artist🎨 | Gamer🎮 | Explorer🌍 https://linktr.ee/FrostMelon