Pink is a neutral.

Leslie Loftis
Tales from An American Housewife
3 min readMay 10, 2017
Yes, Texas can look like this in February.

One early February day a few years ago…

My husband asked as he left for the office, “Why has the house exploded in red and pink?” This from a man with three daughters. If he thinks the house has exploded in pink, then rest assured that the house is trending to that sanctuary that looked like it was hosed down with Pepto Bismol.

“Steel Magnolias”: The wedding in two shades of pink, blush and bashful. One is “much deeper than the other” apparently. Your guess which one.

Recovering quickly, he hit on his own answer: “Ah, Valentine’s Day and three daughters, two of which have a birthday this week.”

I confess that I like decorating for Valentine’s Day, even though pink is not my color of choice. Besides the pinkalicious-ness that comes from having three young daughters, the family that owned this house before us had two daughters. She planted pink roses, pink camellias, and pink azaleas. The house was built sometime in the 60’s in that pinkish brick.

Pink is a neutral in this household and it’s a bit of a problem, for, as long as I’m tossing Steel Magnolias references around, I do have a signature color. It is red.

Red and pink only mix on Valentine’s Day. Throw in a birthday party for little twin girls and a decorating explosion just happens. So Valentine’s week is always bustling around here.

This year, though, we aren’t finished yet. I have more of this post to write — I can hardly wait to write the rest…but not yet. I’ve spent part of the morning negotiating when I may announce the news. Tonight if I have my way. So until this evening…

UPDATE: Those negotiations weren’t negotiations, just my brother messing with me. He told me he wouldn’t call with the news because they would need some couple time. I countered that if all went well, they’d have lots of couple time over the next decades. Besides, she has three sisters. She would call at least one of them with the news. He would have time to send a yes or no text to his sister. He stood his ground in that annoying baby brother way, so I got nervous when he did finally call at 8:45. He tried to mess with me again, but my FUTURE SISTER-IN-LAW came to my rescue and yelled over him that they were getting married.

Yep, my baby brother is engaged. He has chosen well and to say that my mother and I are excited about this match is an understatement. But if you are following along, that is a new sister and her three sisters we are adding to our family. Oh, and she, the baby of 5, has a heap of nieces, and two lonesome nephews. Also, her favorite holiday is Valentines. Thank goodness red is her favorite color, but it seems that I cannot shake the whole pink as a neutral thing.

Now come the logistics. My brother has been living with us for the last two years. The children don’t want him to move, but they like their aunt-to-be. They decided that was a good trade. (We haven’t discussed the house wolf pack yet. Two are ours and one is his. We are still in negotiations about whether I get to keep all three canines.) The family meet will be fun. We might need a venue where 20 kids can run and play outside and the adults can actually mingle. Eventually, my mother and I have to plan a rehearsal dinner.

My mother is the World’s Greatest Grandmother (TM) and she and I get along well, but we have different opinions on parties.

That was a few years ago. I kept all three canines, until they had break ins in their neighborhod and they wanted a the vocal dog, which was his baby anyway. The family meet was a blast, a very busy blast. The rehersal dinner was at Dave and Busters, benefiting their personalities. It was a struggle in the mom and daughter department but loads of fun. And now, there’s another boy. My nephew is 7 months old. (And I am catching up on these updated diary entries for the 52 Week Writing Challange.)

--

--

Leslie Loftis
Tales from An American Housewife

Teacher of life admin and curator of commentary. Occasional writer.