Curious About Coffee Culture Around the World

Leslie Loftis
Tales from An American Housewife
4 min readJul 24, 2018

--

I’ve been writing for almost 10 years. I’ve been an active social media user for maybe seven of those years. I’ve had a few posts or tweets get hundreds of likes or shares. But the first thing I’ve had blow up my notices was a throwaway comment on Reddit about how Starbucks managed any success in Europe.

In one sense it doesn’t surprise me. Coffee culture, especially comparative coffee culture around the world is interesting. People wrote long posts about urban life, tourism, branding, community. In Croatia Starbucks makes little sense because it is to-go, and coffee in Croatia is about sipping while talking with friends for an hour. There were a couple of incredulous posts about how Starbucks is surviving in Vienna, the ancient home of coffee culture. A common comment told of Starbuck’s failure in Italy, home of excellent coffee and a stubborn and passionate populace. Oh, and there are a few cooking science replies sprinkled in. Starbucks burns the brew, you see.

But still, for all I write, for a one-line comment to get the love — not sure if I want to laugh or cry. I’ve even written on coffee culture. I used to do that often actually. I had a whole series about coffee penalties. That’s what my husband named the time-out European waiters put you in if you failed to order coffee after dinner. Over there (and we were in Geneva when he named this phenomenon, in an Italian restaurant, come to think of it) coffee is served after dessert. If you did not order coffee, then the waiter would make you wait for the bill as if you had ordered both dessert and coffee. You were going to sit there, you might as well drink. Besides, it is good drinking.

My favorite coffee shop in the world is a small Italian chain in London. I found it early and frequented it weekly. I often had friends meet me there for PTA meetings — lots of PTA meetings went on there, for Thomas’s, Garden House, Eaton House, Francis Holland — or just to hang out. One day, I had an American friend meet me. She asked for a skim milk latte. No. They do not do skim milk. You could specify the amount of milk, espresso-none, cappuccino-a little, latte-a lot, but that was it. Furthermore, these drinks came a certain way. A no-foam cappuccino does not exist.

But these are not the reasons it is my favorite coffee shop in the world.

From London, sometime in 2013

When we first started hopping back and forth across the Atlantic a few times a year, I came up with a fraud hold arrangement with American Express. If one of my first three charges upon returning to the US was Target, then it was me. I should make a similar arrangement for out coffee shop. On the whole, American coffee is terrible. I won’t even entertain defenses for Starbucks coffee. They burn the beans and the brew. It’s like drinking an ashtray, and that’s only doable with lots of milk or flavoring. The average gas station in Switzerland has better brew.

The best coffee I’ve ever had comes from a small chain of cafes in Chelsea and Pimlico, La Bottega.

Image via garrubbo.com

Invariably, I head to Fabio for a coffee pick me up after a flight, and I didn’t think I could like them more than I already do.

They used to give my kids extra biscuits. They helped my son with his olive and prosciutto desires. But I popped in the other day for my morning latte and saw one of the Chelsea pensioners sitting outside and having a coffee.

The Royal Hospital is around the corner. Many older veterans live there. They wear a uniform when they are out and about so they are easy to identify. When I paid for my coffee, I tried to pay for his as well, as it is Yasha’s and my habit whenever we find ourselves drinking or dining near a veteran. The guy at the counter looked out and said, ”You mean Bruce? No, no. We give him coffee. We don’t let him pay.”

Without a doubt, my favorite coffee shop in all the world.

--

--

Leslie Loftis
Tales from An American Housewife

Teacher of life admin and curator of commentary. Occasional writer.