Mister Nibbles

Davi Mai
Asylum Writers
Published in
3 min readJan 2, 2021

--

Mister Nibbles brought me another treat in the night. I wish he wouldn’t, but I suppose it’s his way of saying thanks for looking after him. He thinks I need feeding.

At least this time it’s an intact body. Not like that time he dragged just a bottom half up the stairs, leaving a trail of blood across the carpet before depositing it at the foot of my bed. Gross!

I named him Mister Nibbles because he has this cute but annoying habit of nibbling my ear when I’m trying to sleep. He snuggles his face right up under my chin then finds my ear lobe and gives me lots of little bites. His teeth never sink in too far though, and I can tell he enjoys it. The contended “nom nom” sound he makes is deafening right up in my ear. And it tickles something terrible. I have to stoke his back, the power of my strokes pulling his mouth away until he gives up.

Mister Nibbles is a weird little bugger!

I’ve had him two years now. Although you know what they say, maybe I belong to him as much as he belongs to me. He just turned up one day, moping around the garden looking mournful and hungry. So, I took him in and fed him. And the rest is history. I no longer sleep alone at nights (when I get to sleep that is, after all the nibbling). I’m not worried about being single anymore. Mister Nibbles is all I need for companionship.

--

--

Davi Mai
Asylum Writers

Short story writer. Fantasy, sci-fi, transgressive. I lack a filter but try to make stuff fun.