Covert Narcissists & The Chilling Void of Weaponized ‘Switching Off’

Covert narcissists turn off emotional responses critical to healthy human relationships

Myla Morningstar
Tales From The Narc Side

--

GET MY FREE DAILY AFFIRMATIONS CREATED ESPECIALLY FOR SURVIVORS OF NARC ABUSE DELIVERED TO YOUR INBOX EVERY MORNING BY SUBSCRIBING HERE.

The Covert Narcissist as a Slightly Evil Hedgehog — by Myla Morningstar

When my covert narcissist first began to actively devalue me, I was awash in confusion. I had fuzzy logic. It felt like I was doing the backstroke in a huge swimming pool filled with mental mud.

The worst part was that I couldn’t describe what was happening to me. Not even to myself. Because a lot of what was happening to me were things that WEREN’T happening. And how do I explain that?

How was I supposed to explain to someone else that the things that weren’t happening to me were just as damaging as the things that were?

--

--

Myla Morningstar
Tales From The Narc Side

Editor of Tales From the Narc Side, BSU ‘05, Suffered For Years At The Hands of a Narcissist, 4 Dogs, 3 Kids, I live in Idaho