Creating New Traditions

Madalene Ison
Tales of a Celtic Clan
2 min readDec 4, 2018

A Biography

Atticus sitting in his favorite spot during Christmas time at the Ison house.

As it has always been said Christmas time is the most wonderful time of the year, and what better way is there to spend Christmas than with family. A fire crackling in the background spreads warmth throughout my Grandmother’s house as we settle down for dinner. Candles dimly light the dining room as slow Christmas ballads play softly from the radio. Steam rises up from the meal freshly cooked, and the scent is irresistible. Christmas in my family has always been extra special for me as my birthday comes only 5 days after the magical holiday. However, one year was made truly special as we went to my Grandmother’s house for a birthday, Christmas dinner. Granny had bought the best ingredients available for a masterful dinner cooked by her, my father, and myself. My father worked on the pastry and the meat while my grandmother made the many side dishes. I was in charge of the duxelle, a delicious paste made from mushrooms. The main course was beef wellington. I had never tasted this dish before this winter night, and it was instantly one of my favorites from then on out.

The birthday cake my Grandmother bought me from her favorite bakery in Atlanta the night we first made the beef wellington dinner.

Every year, when my family doesn’t travel for the holidays, I request this recipe. It became a tradition for this time of year, and making new traditions is an amazing part of being with the people you love. Understanding the traditions of my own family and culture is important to me as my ancestors gave me the life I have today. I want to know about these people I am related to as I know I will find pride in their accomplishments and struggles. I made my mark on my family by creating a new tradition, but I want to travel back and explore the traditions and ancestors that I didn’t know about before.

My mom and me walking along the Chattahoochee River

--

--