Ode for Luke Cage

The Universe is magical, & we are, too

John Levin
Tales of Improbable Magic
2 min readNov 15, 2020

--

Sangre de Cristo, Looking East, Photo by John Levin

Luke Cage, Luke Cage,
Man of the Age,
stepped right up
and took that great stage.

I saw you on Netflix.
I cried for my Mama!
They got Pops in the barbershop,
just like The Godfather.

Who knew where it would go?
I did.
Harlem with music,
gangsters and stooges,

Magic, Blue Mountain Jamaica,
potions and keyboards,
a bionic arm,
heal me in Georgia…

Why did it affect me so much?
Did it affect you, too?
We need magic like that happening.
We need that big touch.

Misty, too, with her bionic arm,
Shades, bad, but ambiguous,
Scarfe, crooked cop,
Doubt, doubt, doubt!
Who are the snitches?

Music sublime, sounding it all together,
Potions from Earth’s Mother Tilda,
What more could I need
to pound out the weather?

Luke Cage,
black skin tight and impenetrable,
emerge from the screen.
We need you, don’t quit!

Save us from freaking
on real world bad shit,
stuff that’s all screaming,
neon words, large on my wall writ.

Your weight on my back, boss,
strong throw, now your loss.
Strength deep in my muscles, bunching like Luke,
I’ll show you the door, creep,

And give you a far soaring toss.
Forget it, bad Bozo,
my stone holds no moss.

*********************

Luke Cage, Luke Cage,
dealing with rage,
welcome to Earth,
Thank you, thank you!

A new magic birth.

Just like you, emerging
from prison in Georgia,
traveling brand new to Harlem,
record wiped clean,

Damn it, damn it to hell!
You’re a cipher for us.
We’re all here in prison,
no fault of our own.

I’ve got a new life in Harlem,
Music, yes, and crime,
Pops in the barbershop,
neutral, his Switzerland.

Show me the truth, Pops!
Yes, I’m also Luke Cage.
I‘ll hit it into the stands,
like ancient Babe Ruth,

Rip the hide off that ball,
the smack of my bat…
They heard it for miles,
tit for my tat.

Strength just like Luke,
it’s yours for the taking,
rippling inner magic,

Just needs some baking.

--

--

John Levin
Tales of Improbable Magic

Scientist. Writer. Meditator. Blue Tantrika. Mystical Rabbi. Climate & Human Rights Activist. I’m a man of few words, except when I open my mouth.