The Awareness of Pigs

We always assume

John Levin
Tales of Improbable Magic
1 min readJan 3, 2022

--

Photo by Elsa Tonkinwise on Unsplash

A friend of mine pontificated that humans can be Buddhas, but pigs cannot. I laughed. Who knows if pigs can be Buddhas or not? We assume, because they make funny noises and let us eat them, that they must be inferior to our own oh so sophisticated understanding. It’s true that pigs cannot speak at great length about the extreme subtleties of awareness and Buddhahood, or can they? When you don’t speak French, you completely miss the finer points of love….

I once dreamt I was a pig. I gathered all the other pigs together and gave them a great discourse about how to meditate.

“John, we already know all that stuff!” they stiffly let me know. “Every time you eat a pork chop, a sausage, or a ham sandwich, the whiff of our Awareness helps you, too, to get closer.”

I cried then. I simply did not know.

________________________________________________________________

© “John” Lesly Levin 2022

P.S. OK, so I have discussions with pigs. You probably have some strange abilities, too. My Grandmother Tillie once faced down a whole Czarist army just by shouting at them and insulting their wives.

--

--

John Levin
Tales of Improbable Magic

Scientist. Writer. Meditator. Blue Tantrika. Mystical Rabbi. Climate & Human Rights Activist. I’m a man of few words, except when I open my mouth.