El Oasis de Huacachina

Rosalys Bryan
Tales of Two
Published in
3 min readOct 21, 2015

--

Huacachina is the ultimate desert oasis situated in the Ica Region, in south Western Peru. With a population of only 115 people it is a 24 hour stop off location, although I can see why some people end up spending longer mesmerised by the wind-sculpted sand-dunes and tranquil lagoon. Known for its psychotropic sunsets and adult playground sand-dunes it has been at the top of our “omg I’m so frickin excited to go there” list.

After a busy morning of sight seeing in Paracas we headed to Huacachina. 15 minutes into arriving we were handed sand boards and launched into dune buggies. If there is one thing that’s going to wake you up, it’s racing around sand dunes that stretch several hundred feet high! There really is no rest for the wicked, I guess that’s why they call it Huacafuckingchina.

WOOOOOOOOO

Luckily I love rollercoasters as it really is the only way to describe the experience of riding in one of these dune buggies. I have never been so shit scared but hysterically laughing all at the same time.

In all honesty, I don’t know how I am still alive to even be writing this. What I do know, is that it was quite possibly the craziest most hilarious thing I have ever done. Put this together with sand boarding from heights I never even imagined and an illuminating sunset to top it all off, I would say Huacachina definitely lived up to expectation.

Not showing off at all

Being absolutely shattered I managed to weasel my way out of the 5am hike back up the dunes to watch sunrise the next day…

Hmmm sweet sunrise right…totally worth the 5am alarm

Not satisfied, Chris heroically hiked back up again a few hours later. I think this made up for it…

--

--