Identity Struggle

Emmanuel Jafaru
Talking Faith
Published in
3 min readDec 10, 2023

Time flew hurriedly past me, who sat in the dark waiting to find myself.

As I sat, I was in earnest hope that I would awake with an enlightenment on who I was.

I hoped so badly that it didn’t matter how long it took, that I would find answers:

Answers to the stream of questions that never leaves my head.

Questions that have stolen what I used to know as peace from my life.

Questions that seem to question every other thing in my life and around my existence, all that I believe and thought I lived for.

Who am I?

What am I supposed to do with my life?

Where am I in life?

Why am I where I am?

Who is who and what is what?

How am I supposed to live?

What counts?

How do I identify what counts and what doesn’t?

All these questions never seem to get answered and for real I think I just might be losing it!

Identity gives meaning to life.

I once came across a saying, “If life gives you a lemon, make it a lemonade and enjoy the ride”

So it is up to me to “get a life” and live it.

Nobody knows exactly what works, but somehow people pick up lessons from life and apply them to what they have decided to stick to and see results.

There is no one-way approach to finding identity and fulfilment… but the first thing we must all do is “ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY” and live up to it.

We owe it to ourselves to accept that irrespective of the forces from without, ninety percent of the time, the forces from within are the most crucial and the determining force that counts.

The strongest opposing force more often than not still needs an inside traitor. You owe it to your wife and children to take responsibility for your life.

Get off that seat, tell yourself who you want to become, and go live it. Create the life you want and live it

would it be easy? No!

Is it possible? Yes!

Who has the power to do it? ONLY YOU!

Get up and live

These questions will always remain, but as you live, you get clarity along the way.

My elder brother MH. Gideon once told me, “In retrospection, it would all make sense”.

So I am saying, you don’t have to get it all figured out neither do you have to have all the dots connected, But in the end, it would all become a perfect shape, one that you have created willingly or unwillingly. It’s your life, live it.

Be wise, seek counsel. But nothing withstanding, live it!

You have 50 claps per every article and comment you interact with on Medium. Please be generous with it. Smiles. Hit the follow button and stay tuned. Please, I would like to see the part of this article that resonates with you. Do well to highlight and comment on this post. I look forward to your reactions

--

--