What I learned from my first week of a UX writing course

Pernilla Axelsson
Microcopy & UX Writing
3 min readJan 30, 2019

--

I’m a freelance Copywriter/UX writer in the making. I’ve been stuck in the Medium Maze for some time, reading UX writing article after article, and clapping like mad.

I’m in a big Facebook group for UX writers. I’ve read Microcopy — The Complete Guide by Kinneret Yifrah. Twice.

I have a secret vault of screenshots with brilliant ideas and microcopy. I pay attention to UX Writing everywhere.

All in all, I’m trying my best to end Lorem Ipsum and understand UX Writing.

Right now, I’m also taking UX Writing hub’s course by Yuval Keshtcher, and this is what I learned from the first week.

What makes an app good or bad?

The first task is fun. I’m analyzing every pixel, word, and feature of 3 Keto apps (my choice of apps).

This is a task for all eyes, so I also get to see my classmates’ choices of apps, their ideas, and their feedback from Yuval and Aaron (our mentors). Seeing their tasks and feedback is a great way to learn as well.

UX writers should also pay attention to what makes ”good UI” (or bad, for that matter) in apps. We are visual.

Rewriting microcopy can create an aha moment

I’m also rewriting microcopy on a social network for bloggers. The focus is on rewriting all the engaging parts on some of the pages.

I’ve dribbled around with different words on buttons, what to write when you spend quality time with a user, a.k.a waiting time, and a lot of other things.

In the middle of writing, I had an aha moment: rewriting microcopy will most likely affect the content.

Because, if you write clear, concise, and useful words on a button, the headline might also need to be rewritten. Maybe the headline doesn’t make sense any longer, or the text lacks a sense of flow.

What we covered in week one

The first week had a lot of information to process. It’s a good foundation for the rest of the course.

We’ve covered the basics and got some practical experience analyzing real-world microcopy.

This week we’ve covered:

  • The importance of good design.
  • Usability in product design.
  • The rise of digital products.
  • The many roles of the UX writer (As a UX Writer, you’ll have many roles and responsibilities. But all of them are connected to one mission: using words to create a digital experience.)
  • How microcopy and design must work together.
  • Analyzing the copy of a digital product.

I’m impressed by the personal feedback we get from Yuval and Aaron. They have to dribble with 7 different time zones and some creative non-native English (from me at least).

Time and friends matter

As a copywriter, this course is a great way to learn UX Writing.

If you’re thinking about taking this course, here’s a piece of friendly advice. Look at your calendar. Does it look crowded? Make space. You’re gonna need those 10 hours a week, at least.

And don’t be a one man/woman show. Talk to your classmates and test your tasks on friends, colleagues, and family.

Friendly minimalism

As a UX writer in the making, I’m feeling invisible, and that suits me. Because my goal is to guide and help people, in a useful and respectful way.

I remind myself that people are emotional, with different needs and desires.

So, for me, UX Writing is friendly minimalism. When I’ve done a good job, few or no-one thinks about the user flow or the words I wrote. They will just do what they came to do. I like that.

One week down, five to go.

Thank you for reading. If you liked this article, feel free to hit that clap button 👏 to help others find it.

And a big thank you to Yuval Keshtcher for setting up the course.

I know I’m not the only student who’s learning a lot and thinks this course is both challenging and fun.

Connect with me on LinkedIn and read my true stories (only in Swedish at the moment).

--

--

Pernilla Axelsson
Microcopy & UX Writing

I’m a curious and enthusiastic UX Writer and Copywriter. I’m eager to learn new things, have fun, and create great stuff, together with people that I like.