What I Learned (And Didn’t Learn) at Confab Intensive 2017

Selene De La Cruz
Microcopy & UX Writing

--

Why I Went to Confab 2017

Like most content strategists, I came into this field by way of another. For me, it was copywriting. Since content strategists make sure content is connected to (duh) its strategy, I figured any reasonably strategic copywriter already had the mindset and skills required to fill the role.

Then I fell down the rabbit hole. There are so many ways to define, to implement, to practice, to embody this discipline. There’s front-end and back-end content strategy. There are content strategists who design and there are content strategists who develop. The more I read and learned, the more I discovered to read and learn.

So how can I run content strategy when I find its definition so diaphanous? When does learning stop and leadership begin? How could I know if I was doing it right?

I found Confab through following Kristina Halvorson. Several workshop titles hit very close to home (Content Strategy for Copywriters), some hit too close to home (The Lonely Content Strategist), and others looked like an eye-opening deep dive.

They all made me hopeful I’d find the clarity I thought I needed. That’s right — I said I thought I needed.

My Big AHA Takeaways

1. Implementing content strategy is hard

As part of a newer content strategy department, I field a lot of questions, concerns, and even objections.

From the titles alone of several workshops (ahem, How to turn any colleague into a content ally; Interdisciplinary techniques for less painful projects; Getting your complex stakeholders to move forward together) I could infer that challenges with implementation and process are not unique, or even unusual.

During a surprisingly musical workshop geared toward effective content strategy presentations, I realized how the content strategy process mirrors the process of change management. They start with the initial identification of a need to be met, or an initiative that could be better served. Then there’s the planning, the all-important measurements for evaluation, and the ongoing revisions. And through it all runs a channel of clear communication.

I just googled this

I came to Confab looking for the “perfect” process to implement content strategy, but there isn’t one. What I did gain are the tools I need to overcome the challenges along the way: listening, guiding, and facilitating.

2. I’m not alone (in feeling alone)

I mean, there was literally a workshop called The Lonely Content Strategist.

Right now, I work in a department of 2, within an agency of almost 100. It sometimes feels like a singularly difficult position. Like, “Hey! Facebook has hundreds of content strategists! Where’s my crew?!”

And that’s just in Menlo Park

At Confab I found my crew — and a lot of them are solo practitioners, too.

Meeting and learning from the other “lonely” content strategists at Confab helped me reframe who’s on my team. It’s my job to work between departments and across disciplines, and each time I make a connection who helps champion the brand and user’s cause, I grow my community. How sweet.

3. I can’t do everything, but I can be awesome at the things I do

I am not just forging the path of content strategy, but bushwhacking it — through a tangled forest of content generated for over 30 brands and hundreds of projects.

According to Kevin Nichols, content strategy can entail any or all of the activities that occur during a content lifecycle. See below:

All the things

So…that’s a lot. How can I be most effective given the sheer magnitude of this role?

I learned strategies to prioritize my skillset and budget my time. Where can I jump in for a quick win? Which roles can I take on myself and where do I need to delegate or support? Flexibility is key — my only immutable task is to continuously advocate for users and protect my brands. Sigh. of. relief.

It Feels Good to Not Learn, Too

My expectations for the conference were high. Meeting the woman who wrote the book on content strategy! Discovering new tools that will change the way I work forever! Becoming the most knowledgeable content strategist in the world!

Hey, the conference was great. I learned, I laughed, luckily I didn’t cry. I can’t wait for next year. But I also caught myself thinking pretty often, “Oh, I know this.”

Instead of transformation, I got confirmation. And that feels pretty damn good.

--

--

Selene De La Cruz
Microcopy & UX Writing

Content Design Manager at Robinhood. A short story about me: Pottery, cats, hummus.