Do you even know to say your name?

Jay Ramachandran
Talking with my daughter
1 min readJun 5, 2016

I’ve been teaching my four-year old daughter the ways of proper introduction. It is perhaps one of my many ways to try and remove the stigma that is traditionally associated with speaking to strangers. (If properly introduced to each other, we’re no longer strangers, right?) Here’s a snippet of a recent conversation she had with a boy at the local park.

Neela, my daughter: Hi, I’m Neela. What is your name?

Boy: Looks at her, smiles.

Neela: Hi … what is your name?

Boy: Starts looking away from her.

Neela: Hey … what is your name? Do you even know how to say your name?

Maybe I should let her be a four-year old and horse around instead of worrying too much about introductions :).

--

--

Jay Ramachandran
Talking with my daughter

Husband. Father. Someone who loves nice things. INTJ, for those who know what that means. Restrained.