Jelly and Fish

Jay Ramachandran
Talking with my daughter
1 min readJul 17, 2014

--

This conversation occurred today in the car en route to daycare and work.

Neela: Appa, I want to be a jellyfish.

Me: (Caught by surprise.) You want to be a jellyfish, Neela?

Neela: Yes, I want to be a jellyfish.

Me: Okay, why do you want to be a jellyfish?

Neela: I want to be a jellyfish with Ms. Catie.

Me: Do you want to make a jellyfish?

Neela: Yes, I want to make a jellyfish with Ms. Catie!

Me: Do you like jellyfish?

Neela: Yes, I like jellyfish.

Me: Why do you like jellyfish, Neela?

Neela: Because jelly is yummy and fish is yummy too!

« I started chuckling at this point. Who would have thought that a toddler can reason like this? I smiled and counted chickens before the eggs hatched when I thought about what her score might be on a critical or analytical reasoning test. »

Me: That’s awesome, Neela.

--

--

Jay Ramachandran
Talking with my daughter

Husband. Father. Someone who loves nice things. INTJ, for those who know what that means. Restrained.