Financing short-term studies for TalTech students

Yulia Petriv
TalTech Blog
Published in
3 min readNov 10, 2018
Representing TalTech in Kempten University of Applied Sciences

Last spring I was going through a TalTech website in search of a program to improve my skills during the summer break. As I came across the list of advertised summer schools, one particular program caught my interest — “Data science for everyone” in Kempten University of Applied Sciences. TalTech students were offered 5 free spots in this program, but I also needed a way to cover flight and accommodation.

Long story short, the solution was suggested by a senior international student in TalTech (networking is always a good idea:).

In Estonia master and doctoral students as well as young researches (see Eligibility criteria here) can receive a Dora Plus scholarship for participation in the research conferences, seminars, courses or other learning and research related activity abroad.

The scholarship covers the cost of participation, accommodation, daily allowance and travel, but cannot exceed more than 2000 euros per visit. You can find all the details about the way your scholarship will be estimated here.

Application process consisted of two parts:

  1. Approval of my participation by the Dora Plus coordinator in the TalTech.
  2. Approval from Archimedes foundation.

To be recommended by TalTech to receive a scholarship, I had to provide the following documents (see TalTech website):

  • an application form signed by the head of the department;
  • confirmation of acceptance issued by Kempten University of Applied Sciences;
  • supervisor’s letter of recommendation — since I was not assigned a supervisor yet, programme director issued one on my behalf;
  • written confirmation regarding the amount of the participation fee (I had a fee waiver, so confirmation of acceptance was enough).

Deadline to submit documents is by the 10th of each month (excluding 10th of July), so I sent my documents to Dora Plus coordinator and awaited decision.

After positive of evaluation of my application, I received an email from Dora foundation asking me to fill out online application on their platform and submit additional documents. In my case, those additional documents included summer school programme and confirmation of attendance.

Working on our first project using R

Few weeks before the event I was contacted by Archimedes and asked to sign the scholarship contract (you can also do it digitally!). In a few days, I have received my payment and went on to prepare for my upcoming trip to Germany:)

Once I came back from summer school, I filled out a report about my participation, including my certificate of attendance. Done!

All in all, I would like to thank Archimedes foundation and European Regional Development Fund for providing such opportunities for Estonian students to participate in research activities and studies abroad.

So, if you are interested in presenting your research at a conference or willing to learn new skills at winter/summer schools, check out TalTech website for new opportunities (updated on the rolling basis) and consider Dora Plus scholarship as a tool to help you get there.

--

--