First impressions after one month at TalTech. The story of Anas Agag.

Svitlana Kharchenko
TalTech Blog
Published in
6 min readOct 13, 2020
Anas Agag

Anas Agag, a first-year Technology of Wood, Plastics and Textiles MSc programme student from Egypt

Thanks to the advice of his professor Anas has discovered TalTech in order to build on his architectural background and acquire valuable skills in the field of wood technology. After the bumpy ride of hassle and uncertainty he managed to arrive to the university and start his classes. And now, one month later, he is sharing his first impressions about Estonia and Tallinn, the TalTech university and the Technology of Wood, Plastics and Textiles programme.

Why TalTech?

The reason number one I came to TalTech to study exactly this programme is the advice I got from one of my professors — the supervisor of my graduation thesis Prof. Ahmed Hasan. He encouraged me to join knowing how much I am into textures and fabrication processes.
Besides, in the startup community in Egypt Estonia is well known for its own startup scene. I didn’t even consider going to Tartu, since Tallinn is already too small for me and I am used to be located in the capital cities and I am not ready to compromise on that.

Coming to Estonia

I applied to various universities in different countries and every university was so cautious, because they were not sure what was going to happen and if they could accept international students at all. Often I have received no reply at all. I would honestly prefer to get a clear rejection rather than silence.
I had an acceptance letter from TalTech but didn’t know how it will turn out in the end. I have received my visa before TalTech’s decision not to admit people from the list of so-called “red” countries. Yet, until the very last moment, I did not know if I would be allowed to go to Estonia and start my studies.
I had 4–5 ongoing projects back home in Egypt and because of the uncertainty, I continued carrying them out almost till the very last day. In the end, once I received a green light I had to wrap up my work and other duties in literally two days. Therefore, only two days before the flight I got the assurance I can go anywhere at all. I didn’t have an opportunity for a proper good-bye party nor telling everyone I am about to leave for a long period of time. And so, I keep receiving messages from some of my friends surprised that I have left.
I arrived to Estonia and the first thing I’ve noticed is that a lot less people are wearing masks than in Egypt. Upon arrival I quarantined for 2 weeks, just watching Netflix and doing nothing more. It was good in a way, because I realized I finally can have some rest after so many months of hassle and uncertainty.

Anas has a background in architecture and a true passion for textures

First impressions about Tallinn

I am a well-travelled person and I have visited a number of cities and countries among which Munich, Vienna, Shanghai, Riyadh, Milano. Back in Egypt I read so much about Estonia, watched tons of videos, followed a number of blogs. Yet I couldn’t imagine how small is Tallinn in reality. Right upon arrival, I was surprised with the small airport. It gave a very positive and cozy impression and yet it is so small.
I walk a lot and it is a part of my daily routine. One day, somewhere last week I walked from TalTech campus to Ikea and from there to the city centre and then back here. Basically I have walked around the whole city, but in sum it was something around 21km. It felt so small to me.
Just yesterday I checked what the total area of Tallinn is, which sums to 159.3 km² and then I checked the same for my hometown Cairo and got a number of 3,085 km². To get from Eastern Cairo to Western Cairo takes about 3 hours by car. In comparison to that in Tallinn you can do everything in 5 minutes. And I rather like it, it’s cozy.

Suburbs and rush hours

I have got to know one Estonian girl, and I asked her if Mustamäe can be considered a suburb. I was wondering since it looks rather soviet and architecturally different from the rest of the city. She hesitated but eventually said it is somehow a suburb. But then I realised it is located in only 6km from the old town, not bad at all for a “suburb”!
The other day I drew in Bolt and the driver mentioned it was a rush hour, but traffic and everything was quite. This is definitely not the rush hour how I know it from Egypt.
It is also a very interesting experience to come across the same people all the time. It is something you will hardly experience in Cairo, where it is so busy and so crowded, everyone is in a rush, and there are so many people you will hardly accidentally meet anyone twice.

The weather of course

Another thing is the weather of course. I came from 38 degrees to 14, which is already rather on the colder side and I know it will only get colder. So far, I’m enjoying this “cold” and will try to approach it as another experience — I know what “extreme hot” means, so let me also learn about the “extreme cold”.

Anas stands for a strong designer personality and entrepreneurial mindset

Finding an accommodation

Again, I’m lucky with this one. I have applied for a shared room in one of the dorms, but since I had to quarantine, I was placed in another dormitory at Academia tee, where temporary I had the whole apartment for myself. Of course, I liked that situation and negotiated to stay there for good, which in the end worked out just well. I was supposed to have a flat mate but as for now I still have the whole place only for myself.

First impressions about the programme

I have started the year with taking the two courses, which content is actually familiar to me already. Thus, I have been using CAD software for around 7 years by now, and also have been actively involved in project management. Therefore, the courses in CAD and project management at the university are actually fairly easy for me. Within my programme I am specializing in Wood Technology and it is getting more and more interesting. I hope to gain professionalism in this field in a rather practical than theoretical way. After all, I have a background in architecture, and I would say it is very practical– drawings, illustrations, all those things I truly like. I am trying to get used to things and adapt. I have a strong designer personality and I want to build on that.
One of the things that persuaded me to come here is the abundance of practical products created both inside the university and outside of it by its alumni. Self-driving car, satellite, electric scooters — are some of examples. I also find the idea of Mektory as a startup incubator right here at the university very attractive.

Plans for the nearest future

I am currently searching for a job, and so far, I came across some language difficulties, since all the places I applied to require the knowledge of Estonian or Russian. I have started an Estonian course and also joined StarterTallinn (Business Idea Development programme established by a number of universities in Estonia). So far I have been lucky with them, I just shared my idea and they found a suitable team for me, which liked my idea so much that they actually let go of their previous one. I hope it will continues this way and will result in some cool products.
Otherwise, I am still waiting for my TRP (Temporary Residence Permit), they say it will be there in December. Another big thing for the upcoming Autumn-Winter — I want to see the Northern Light!

Learn more about Technology of Wood, Plastics and Textiles MSc programme!

--

--

Svitlana Kharchenko
TalTech Blog

Immigrant and traveler. Info yoga and all things sustainable. Foreign languages and countries enthusiast.