For the first time alone far away from home with Erasmus

Svitlana Kharchenko
TalTech Blog
Published in
4 min readFeb 17, 2021

Karolina Kudelina is an Estonian PhD Student and Junior Researcher of Electrical Power Engineering and Mechatronics in TalTech. Within her doctoral thesis she studies advanced methods for diagnostics of electrical machines using artificial intelligence, digital twins and bordering IT methods for the electrical machines.
During her Master’s Karolina undertook an exchange at the University of Extremadura (UEx) in Spain.

Karolina in Sevilla

University of Extremadura

During my Master’s study in programme of Energy Conversion and Control Systems in TalTech, I did internship to University of Extremadura (Badajoz, Spain). The region of Extremadura is located in the south-west of Spain on the Portuguese border. The University of Extremadura was founded in 1973. This is a modern institution with more than 20.000 students and more than 2.000 staff members. The UEx has campuses in Badajoz, Cáceres, Mérida and Plasencia. I did my internship in the campus of Badajoz. This campus counts with 5 faculties and 2 schools. In total, I worked for two months in Power Electrical and Electronic Systems Research Group of the Department.

Badajoz, my Spanish hometown

Why Spain?

In my field of electrical engineering, there are lots of opportunities for Erasmus exchange studies and internships. It is possible to go to Finland, Sweden, Norway, Germany, Czech Republic, France, Spain, Portugal, and many other countries. Eventually, I decided to go to Spain. I wanted to see other perspectives of my work field and learn something completely different.

Erasmus pros and cons

First of all, I got valuable work experience and additional knowledge in my field, which subsequently helped me in my studies. Also, it was a great opportunity to practice of my language skills.

This internship was a good experience not only from a professional side, but also from a personal point of view. The main advantage of my internship was that it helped me to step out of my comfort zone. I met new people, new friends. In turn, it gives a better understanding of different cultures.

On the other hand, you may feel lonely in a foreign country with foreign people. At first, it can be difficult to adapt to a new culture and eventually, you are at a risk of getting a culture shock. Nevertheless, when you meet new friends and colleagues, this feeling starts fading away and you will realise that this is one of the most unforgettable experiences in your life.

Challenging but worth it!

Erasmus internship was one of the most challenging moments in my life — the first time when I was alone far away from home. However it helped a lot that people in Spain are very friendly. When I came to the university, my new colleagues welcomed me warmly.
My internship was also full of emotions and impressions outside the university. I could not miss the chance to travel in such a beautiful country. In the region I stayed, there were so many historical places. So, I had an opportunity to travel. It was so nice to meet new people, talk to them and explore a culture that is totally different from yours.

I visited the most charming cities in Spain …

  • Sevilla. This city has a rich history, which has left monuments like the awesome cathedral (by the way, the third largest cathedrals in the world).
Sevilla
  • the capital of Extremadura — Mérida, which also was the capital of the Roman province of Lusitania (founded 25 BC as Emerita Augusta). This is a place of the most impressive Roman ruins in all Spain.
In the capital of the region Mérida
  • I could not miss the opportunity to visit Madrid — the capital and the largest city of Spain. Royal Palace, medieval cathedrals, interesting museums, wonderful parks, avenues, ancient temples and more other things make people remember this city once and forever.
Karolina in El Retiro Park in Madrid
  • The medieval and magical, Old Town of Cáceres is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Once Cáceres was the filming location for the famous TV series Game of Thrones.
Cáceres was once the filming location for the famous Game of Thrones.

To sum up…

Don’t be afraid of getting out of your comfort zone! Travel, meet new people, learn about your work field from different points of view! Erasmus is a great opportunity for all of these!

Learn more about exchange studies and full-degree programmes at Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech), become a part of TalTech community!

--

--

Svitlana Kharchenko
TalTech Blog

Immigrant and traveler. Info yoga and all things sustainable. Foreign languages and countries enthusiast.