How to study effectively online

Oryna Kozmenko
TalTech Blog
Published in
2 min readSep 14, 2020

Many of us still have to study online because of various reasons. It is actually very beneficial to master this skill, as I am sure we will need it in the future.

At first, when online lectures just started I was very excited about it. No need to wake up earlier to get ready for the lectures, I can multitask and many more advantages as I thought. But later I discovered that it was hard for me to concentrate and study during the lectures. I spent a lot of time trying to figure it out and here I am sharing 5 tips that help me to be productive during online studies.

  • Make sure to have a routine

It is not so obvious, but having a routine really helps. You don’t have to apply extra effort every time and make yourself do the task when you’re already used to it.

  • Have your sleep schedule fixed

I know that waking up right before the lecture (if it starts early in the morning) sounds amazing, but it influences your productivity. I prefer to wake up 40–60 minutes before my morning class starts to make sure I’m fully awake and ready to study.

  • Discover what helps you to concentrate

It is extremely hard for me to be fully present on the lecture if I’m not doing something at the same time. I like to do something while listening to the theory class. It could be painting, cleaning, or even going for a walk or other activities of your choice. Just make sure that it is not distracting you from the lecture!

  • Have a plan

Making a plan for the day really helped me to procrastinate less. Setting specific goals for the day makes me motivated to finish the task and cross it out from my to-do list.

  • Working environment

It applies to when I need to read or do my homework. I like to have a dedicated workplace where it is light, quiet, comfortable and nothing is distracting me.

_______________

In the end, I would really recommend to pay attention to what is bothering or distracting you and to try to fix it. The list is different for all of us, but I hope that you found something useful in my tips :)

--

--