How Did I Decide to Become A Student Ambassador?

Shamaise Peters
TalTech Blog
Published in
3 min readSep 11, 2019

In September 2017, as I embarked on a flight towards pursuing higher legal education in Estonia, the sister island that makes up my country-Barbuda, was being destroyed by Hurricane Irma. This left every resident homeless and traumatized by the natural disaster. As a result, I missed the orientation days and had no idea how to manoeuvre around the campus. I can remember walking and searching for classes when I was approached by a student who asked if I needed help. It was evident my facial expressions showed that I was indeed lost! However, I then learnt this student was a student ambassador who gave me a spontaneous tour of the campus and offered some essential tips while doing so. This simple act of kindness allowed my day to be better and this is when I decided that I wanted to become a member of the international student ambassador club. Here I would be able to do one of the things I love doing, helping others, creating connection and positive inspiration.

Assisting faculties and students at a Master’s seminar

As a student ambassador, you are the bridge between the prospective students and the admissions department. It allows you to share your experiences and knowledge with persons who require that extra insight about selecting TalTech University as their final choice. Also, assisting or directing students with any issues or advise that is required. Although I am doing a selfless act by ensuring that student’s burning questions are answered, I’ve also developed personal skills which will help in my professional career. The coordinators of the program are experienced and trained individuals in marketing and communication who motivate the members to be involved in public speaking and creating projects. These skills are transferable to interviews and building a stronger path to success.

Another great benefit of the program is that you are allowed to share cultural traits and learn from others. While assisting students, networking is inevitable in this program. Thus far, I’ve learnt quite a bit about Estonian culture, Indian, Chinese and Finnish to name a few. On our photo shoot for the new ambassadors that were selected in September 2017, it was emphasized by the coordinators to incorporate something that symbolizes your country. This mandate still exists! As an international student it is important to maintain your identity while learning new cultures that you never knew existed. If you are like me in that regard, this program is a perfect fit for you!

The environment that has been created is friendly and it is so easy to work along with student ambassadors who share the same purpose of being helpful to other students. I hope I will see you in selected as a new student ambassador or helping you through your studies in TalTech. See you soon!

Social engagement for the Student Ambassadors

--

--