Karolina Kudelina: I always knew I would work in a technical field

Svitlana Kharchenko
TalTech Blog
Published in
6 min readOct 15, 2021

Karolina Kudelina is a PhD student and a junior researcher of Electrical Engineering at TalTech. Since high school, she had a particular interest in the field of technologies and engineering sparkled by her father, an electrical engineer with “golden hands”. In the interview, Karolina talks about her field and PhD career with an outstanding share of energy and enthusiasm, inspiring others to follow their academic goals.

Karolina Kudelina

On the way to Electrical Engineering

I always knew that I would become, if not an engineer, then definitely somebody in a technical field. Although I graduated school with cum laude and did my best with every subject, humanities is definitely not my cup of tea. I feel more comfortable with the techy topics. When it comes specifically to engineering — my dad is an engineer, and I spent a good share of my childhood in his garage watching how dad is fixing, repairing and building things. The expression “golden hands” refers to a person with excellent skills in practical jobs, and it is definitely about him. Being a TalTech student in the program of electrical power engineering, my dad said — if you want to become an electrical engineer, from the very beginning you will have to understand where electricity is coming from and where it is going. I worked two summers at the electrical power station, and I have realized that electrical engineering is something exciting, but at that point, I thought it was a narrow field only applicable to mining and power stations. But actually, electrical engineering is quite a broad field, which includes electrical machines, power electronics, power systems, and so much more.

Diagnostics of Electrical Machines

At TalTech, I am a part of the Electrical Machines research group (EMG), and, as the name suggests, we are dealing with everything related to electrical machines: their optimization, drive systems, diagnostics, and so on. My research topic is related to diagnostics of electrical machines, their faults and damages. Specifically, the main focus is on intelligent condition monitoring methods. The latter refers to how we can learn that there will be some fault in the future and how to prevent it timely.

“Despite my tight schedule I always try to find time to rest”

Inspiring Engineering

I often received a question about how I have got here. To a certain extent, it was coincidental because when you are 17 years old and just finished school, you don’t know what you want to become in the future. So, I just applied to TalTech and said to myself — “okay, let’s try what it is”. So, I studied for a couple of years and, eventually, I knew it was the field I liked and where I wanted to be. Now, I can’t imagine myself anywhere else.

PhD as a logical continuation of the story

As for me, it was a logical continuation of the story after my Master’s graduation. Thus, when the question about doing a PhD came up, I instantly agreed. One of the life situations that helped me to make up my mind was an internship in Spain. There I worked at the university in the same environment with the PhD students, and somehow it has influenced me even if I didn’t have the final decision to do my PhD back then yet. Afterwards, I came back to Estonia and received an invitation to work in the lab of electrical machines as an engineer. At that stage, I started writing research articles on my topic and realized that academia was where I saw myself continuing working.

“I like to walk and I walk a lot”

How is it to be a PhD?

PhD is an excellent opportunity to concentrate on one specific topic. Another thing is that PhD students travel a lot — to conferences, exchange studies, university visits. It is also really international. You meet different exciting people with whom you can exchange information in your field. One has to stay up-to-date constantly because new things are coming up all the time. The most challenging part is how intense the PhD programs are, meaning you won’t always have much spare time, especially at the beginning and the end of the year. Besides, due to the pandemic, a teaching part has become tricky as well. Suddenly, we had to adjust to the online format. It is, of course, so much easier to have personal contact with the students and hear their feedback first-hand.

Walking and drawing to recharge

There’s always supposed to be some balance between professional and personal life. Therefore, despite my tight schedule, I am trying to find some time for rest. For instance, I like to walk. I walk a lot. Usually, I take my car and go to some nice place to walk, for example near the sea or in the forest. It helps me switch my mind because otherwise I often just keep thinking about work even if I have some time off — “oh, I should do this, write this, contact them”. So in that sense, walking is a process of recharging and meditation for me. I am also into drawing, and, some months ago, I started drawing comics about my PhD life. I showed it to some of my colleagues, and they found it very relatable to our PhD reality and motivated me to continue.

Click to follow Karolina’s Ms Science Instagram

Favourite places on the campus…

I would say my office, where I am spending my entire life (laughing). But, when I was a student, I spent a lot of time in the library, because it is such a quiet place, especially if one uses those lovely noise-cancelling cabins they have got in there. Prõks! is also a special place for me because of the great coffee, pleasant environment and authentic student energy.

… and in Tallinn

There are so many places to visit around here. For all these years I have been living in Estonia, it is only now in pandemic times when I started exploring it. You don’t even have to go far away from Tallinn to visit beautiful places like Kakerdaja bog.
When it comes to the city itself, the Old Town is first for me. I am originally not from Tallinn, so when I came here for the first time, I was stunned and excited to see it. Every time I come there, I feel this ancient medieval energy. It is an extraordinary place.
The most peaceful location for me is a health trail in Haabneeme. If I feel overwhelmed with work, I like to go for a walk there. One time I walked like 12 kilometres there and felt relaxed afterwards.

Karolina on the campus

“Little encouragement would be great for talented girls in engineering.”

I am from a tiny town Narva-Jõesuu near Narva. Many talented girls, many of them in a technical field, but not all live up to their potential. The reason often lies in some inconvenience or somebody telling them they were not suitable for certain fields, which made them quit and not follow their passions. I always find it a pity. For some of them, it is also an issue of going to another city to study, leaving their comfort zone. And I know it’s not easy, and that’s why I believe that little encouragement would be great and helpful for them.

Find a suitable programme in English at Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech) to make the first step toward your international career.

--

--

Svitlana Kharchenko
TalTech Blog

Immigrant and traveler. Info yoga and all things sustainable. Foreign languages and countries enthusiast.