My Erasmus Internship in Spain

Kaiszia Celestine
TalTech Blog
Published in
3 min readSep 11, 2020

Hey guys! During this summer, despite the global pandemic, I took a chance and applied for an internship in Madrid, Spain. In order to attain all the ECTS to graduate and fulfill my studies as a law student, I needed to do an internship. I decided to do it this summer and it was one of the most amazing experiences ever!

I received the Erasmus+ scholarship from TalTech which was quite helpful in financing my two month stay abroad. I also met so many different people from all over the world during my internship and other places as well. It was an exciting experience because I had to learn a lot of Spanish to be able to communicate with people on a daily basis because a lot of people in Madrid do not speak English. This helped me to learn the language quite quickly and meet new people! Although there were some restrictions due to COVID-19, it was still an amazing experience that I recommend everyone to consider.

I learned a lot of skills that will help my legal studies, such as: solving cases related to transactions, writing legal reports, research and much more! I recommend Madrid as a place to do an internship because it was very accommodating in regard to enhancing my skills and other aspects. I was able to get an amazing shared-flat, in Chamberí, near the centre of Madrid, which was surrounded by restaurants. It was such a great choice as I was able to practice Spanish with my flatmates and experience some local Spanish food right outside my front door! The people in Madrid were also some of the kindest people I had ever met! Everyone was always so kind, welcoming and surprisingly friendly. I have definitely befriended some friends that I will forever hold close to my heart. I also had some of the most amazing food in Madrid, and being a pescatarian, it was so easy to find different vegetarian/pescatarian options as well!

Personally, I do believe that Madrid is quite affordable if you’d like to do an internship there. Erasmus+ scholarship will give you 720€ per 30 days if you do your internship in Spain, but it will vary depending on other countries. Unfortunately, this will not be enough and you may have to use some of your own funds to finance yourself depending on your lifestyle. Getting around Madrid was fairly easy as well and I always felt safe and comfortable even during late nights. It’s quite easy to get around because there are maps everywhere, GPS on your phone and bus stops info are always accurate. I also received a transportation card which gave me access to all transportation (metro, bus, etc.) for 20€ per 30 days!

This was an enjoyable experience that I will never forget, so I encourage students to take advantage of this opportunity and enjoy yourself! I will definitely be going back to Madrid as I now feel as though it is my second home. Whichever country you decide to do your internship, I encourage you to get a gist of the language first as it may be needed for everyday life! I hope this was helpful! :)

--

--

Kaiszia Celestine
TalTech Blog

lover of great food & good juju🏖; new experiences make some great fun too