Preparing for your internship

Alamin Khan
TalTech Blog
Published in
4 min readOct 17, 2019

Hi, I am Alamin Khan. Today I am going to share my internship experience which I have done at “Ericsson Eesti As” in Estonia. I hope my article might help you by giving you some insights of my experience and information about internship. The most important element of internships is that, integrate classroom knowledge and theory with practical application and skills developed in professional or community settings. They also bring a wealth of benefits to students, both while completing a degree and when seeking a career path post-graduation.

The ways of searching internship:

Job Fair at Taltech ,Source- TalTech

Different campus job fair and events:Many times university invite Different companies to organize job and internship fair on university campus. In those fair, you will get to know about the companies and what they are looking for. Besides, students can also talk to some experts of different fields to get useful information about their internship opportunities. In the event, companies discuss about the positions they have currently open to apply and which type of people they are looking for summer internship. I recommend all of students to attend this event to get more information. For example, last year I attended two of those events that helped me to understand which skills I should have to develop.

Online Job Portal: In Estonia, the most popular way to find any jobs or internship offer by cv.ee. This platform is very easy to use like most other job portal. There is customize search options to find out specific jobs that you want to know about. Besides that, there are some other website giving the facilities to finding internship. Another company is cvkeskus.ee I also recommend keeping eyes on LinkedIn jobs section to find any suitable jobs or internship.

Personal and Social connection: “It’s not what you know, but who you know.” Indeed, in surveys, it’s typical for roughly half of employees to say that they found their job through a friend, family member, or other type of social network contact.so keep week ties alive don’t ignore that and pay attentive to tie activation that’s might help one day.

Selection procedure:

source- Internship in Malta.com

To select the potential employee, almost every company arrange an interview and sometimes they can give you some small task to do to test your knowledge on that intern position that you are applied for. As a fresh student they don’t expect too much from you. However, if you have done any relevant project in university or working experience feel free to share with them. I also had one interview experience that, they arranged a small exam to understand my understanding of the topic I am going to work.

Intern experience:

An Ericsson employee works on data-networking devices at the company’s factory in Tallinn, Estonia.Source- PETER KOLLANYI/BLOOMBERG NEWS

During my internship, I gained several experiences which would never be possible if i didn’t join as intern. First thing that I learned is teamwork. During the working time, I realized that how much teamwork is important. How I get more in touch with team and learn new ideas and interesting thing from team members. Second thing I learned is working environment in and office atmosphere. I learned how to behave with my co-worker and manage daily task in office on time. I also developed my own skills on this special sector I work with. Obviously, I developed my communication skills during the internship time. This internship also helps me to understand that how to make a resume to select on a target position. Now I can update my current resume with that working experience. Before going to main production, they arrange days 3 days basic training in different topics which was also important for me. Most of the topic was about different safety and ergonomic with business ethics of the company.

Finally:

I will be awarded 6 credits points for this internship as field work experience with the final report about internship. And, also have to be defend in order to get credit in TalTech. This internship can also be used on my curricula, for which I will be given ECTS after presenting my experience to a panel. One more important thing to know that, most of internship position in Estonia are paid position.so, you will able to earn little amount of money with intern experience.For more information , you can contract TalTech Career counselling service with Career counsellor “ Monika Sutrop”.

--

--