Rinkesh Prajapati: I absolutely loved the international exposure that I got at TalTech

Rinkesh Prajapati from India graduated from Master’s in Mechatronics in June 2020 and is currently working as an Electrical Design Engineer in Motors and Generators department at ABB.
In the interview Rinkesh talks about his choice of Mechatronics programme, TalTech and Estonia, his TalTech memories and transition to work environment.

Svitlana Kharchenko
TalTech Blog
4 min readMar 30, 2021

--

Rinkesh Prajapati

Why TalTech?

When I was applying to many universities in Europe, Estonia got my attention since some of my friends informed me that Estonia is an advanced country with respect to technology and a digital society. My counsellors also told me that Estonia is a peaceful, green country with a good quality of life. The reason why I narrowed down on TalTech was because the course was provided in English and the campus is based in Tallinn. The campus has a lot of student facilities like student accommodation, gym, laboratory etc. Lastly, the fees were affordable and there were many opportunities to apply for various scholarships.

Mechatronics

I wished to join the Master’s programme in Mechatronics at TalTech so as to increase the horizon of my technical imagination. The distinguished faculty and excellent facilities at TalTech made post graduate program ideally suited to my professional goals.
At the time of applying, I was sure that a Master’s in Mechatronics would not only provide me with a sound base of theoretical concepts (such as mathematical modelling and electro mechanical system) but would also give me opportunity to implement them in real life.
As a TalTech alumni of the Master’s of Mechatronics programme, I owe a lot to TalTech for the amazing friends I made, the experiences I had and to the amazing career I have today.
I had completed my bachelor’s in electrical engineering. I had a lot of subjects similar during my master’s course at TalTech such as industrial automation and drive, microprocessor, electronics and others. My thesis topic too, that I had chosen, was based on my interests. It was because of that thesis topic that I could update my skills and enhance my knowledge. It also helped me secure my job at ABB as my thesis topic matched with what they were looking for. As such, my thesis topic too was instrumental in helping me secure a design engineer role at ABB.

Rinkesh hiking in snowy Estonia

International exposure at TalTech

I absolutely loved the international exposure that I got at TalTech. I met people from different countries and I loved the integration; me inviting them to taste Indian food, then in return being invited by them to taste their countries cuisines, learning phrases from each other’s languages. It was funny to notice that certain words are used in different countries, but convey totally different meanings (laughing).

Funny moments

During an international dinner event organised by ESN in 2019, students from each different country could represent their respective country through their food and culture. While it was one of the best experiences of my life, meeting so many students of various backgrounds, there was a hilarious instance when some European students (who obviously loved Indian music) started dancing to Bollywood music and even got other European students to join their dance. In the end, the happiest moment was when me and my team got best country award.

After graduation ceremony

After graduation

My life hasn’t changed dramatically after graduation. During my studies at TalTech, I managed working and studying. After graduation, I switched to working full time in my core role as an electrical design engineer. And I still meet my university friends on weekends :)
I found my current job at ABB through CV.ee. I got it since the job role perfectly matched my Master’s thesis topic.

Plans for future

Gain as much knowledge as an electrical designer, work towards progressing the corporate ladder and get a managerial position.

About Estonia

Being an Indian, I miss spicy food, the sun and warmth. Having said that, I like the quality of life here, peace, greenery and nature that Estonia has an abundance of. Advancements in digital technology too is a big boon and has made complex tasks simple.

Advice for TalTech students

Always be learning and become an expert in your chosen field.

Learn more about Mechatronics MSc programme and join the most innovative university in Estonia!

--

--

Svitlana Kharchenko
TalTech Blog

Immigrant and traveler. Info yoga and all things sustainable. Foreign languages and countries enthusiast.