Summer activities in Tallinn

Oryna Kozmenko
TalTech Blog
Published in
3 min readJul 20, 2020

There’s an Estonian anecdote about summer:

One person tells another one: “Summer this year was amazing!”. And the other one replies: “Yes, it was. Such a pity I was working that day”.

It is true, summer in Estonia is very special. You cannot predict how long it’s going to be- one day or a couple of weeks. That is why it is important to make maximum use out of it. I’ve prepared 3 activities for you for Estonian summer.

  1. Cycling in Tallinn

For that, you can use a bike or rent an electric scooter from various rental services.

There are a lot of routes, by my favorite one is from the city center to the Pirita beach, that is approximately 2 km long. The path is coming along the sea, so you will be enjoying the scenery meanwhile the ride. There are as well many benches to rest and the possibility to buy refreshing drinks. At the end of the route, you can swim in the sea to cool down.

Pirita promenade, taken from Visit Estonia.

2. Festivals

Festivals and summer sound almost like synonyms to me. There are numerous happening in Tallinn and other parts of Estonia. The ones in my personal must-visit list are Tallinn Food Truck Festival 2020 (the entrance is free) on 28/08 and Tallinn Music Week on 27/08–20/08.

To find more events and festivals make sure to check the events section on Facebook and Visit Estonia website.

3. Walks

The last thing I recommend to do during summer is to go for as many walks as possible. It helps to catch the summer and enjoy it to the maximum. I, personally, like to go for a picnic or a walk around campus, if I feel lazy to go anywhere further. But if you have time, I recommend visiting Kadriorg.

Kadriorg palace

You can find a beautiful park, the 18th century Palace and a Japanese garden. You can easily spend hours walking around and exploring the area. What is also nice, is that they have a lot of lovely cafes around and an art museum.

Japanese garden in Kadriorg
KUMU- art museum

P.S. I hope using my list you are going to full your summer with unforgettable moments and explore Tallinn ❤

--

--