Why Erasmus is a perfect way to get out of your comfort zone?

Svitlana Kharchenko
TalTech Blog
Published in
8 min readFeb 17, 2021

Karina Veelaid, an Estonian student from Public Administration and Governance programme at TalTech is recalling her exchange studies in the Netherlands. Karina’s Dutch story is full of warmth, positivity and useful tips. Learn about the steps of applying for an exchange semester/year abroad, its advantages and disadvantages as well as about life-changing decisions it can aspire you to undertake later on.

Get ready!

I’ve always had an interest and desire to contribute to society and therefore I chose to study Public Administration and Governance programme, from which I have very recently graduated (in February, 2021).
To tell the truth, I already miss being a student and all the things that made my student life so exciting, including the exchange studies in the Netherlands in 2019.
If you also would like to take the maximum advantage of your studies , grab some tea or coffee, make yourself comfortable and get ready to be inspired by my story. And prepare to apply for the exchange or internship abroad right afterwards!

“Just walking in the cities of the Netherlands was a pleasure because of their architecture!”

Stage 1: the idea

My wonderful trip with Erasmus+ started unexpectedly, even though usually I am an organized and disciplined person. As is common, the idea to go on exchange came from teachers’ and other students’ recommendations and their stories full of adventures. Also, Instagram as always has played its role by showing exciting pictures of my friends studying abroad and capturing moments of their interesting life there. Then I thought “if I do not go, then it will be the biggest mistake ever!” Fortunately, I had great support from my family, especially my mother, who was the first one to plan her trip to the Netherlands in December to visit me (even though back then I had not even applied yet)

  • The first lesson I learned from this stage is that not everything that happens in your life should be always planned as often spontaneous things turn our to be the best. Of course, it is important to think about your life goals and plans in advance, but you should be ready for exciting and unexpected turns that can bring very much joy and experience, and be courageous to take these challenges. Moreover, it is never late to go on exchange because I personally went there in my third year.
“Every week we discovered new places in Rotterdam and the Netherlands in general”

Stage 2: the application

Then the second part — the application-began. I presented my CV, chose three universities, briefly expressed my motivation to study there, as well as attached my English proficiency certificate. The average grade plays a big role here because the one with a higher grade will ultimately be able to go. Usually students worry much about it, however, I will say bravely — do not be scared, most of the applicants who fulfill the basic criteria, get the place. The reason is simple — the competition is not so strong. Nevertheless, choosing three universities takes time and effort, which will pay off in the end.
I chose two universities in the Netherlands (Erasmus University Rotterdam and Leiden University), as well as one in Ireland. All three universities offered a programme in Management of International Social Challenges — hard to find anywhere else. Additionally, the education system in the Netherlands is different — it has a practical approach to studies known as PBL that made it attractive for me. Not to forget the proximity of European institutions, which is always a dream coming true for a future official interested in policymaking.
Important to note that the biggest amount of time goes on researching the host country and host university, filling out the documents needed, making insurance, planning finances, and choosing subjects that would correspond to the ones you have in your home country.

“You should never give up when facing challenges”

During the process I have experienced both tough and fun times — I remember when I got to know that the application for accommodation would start at the time, when I would be on my way from Estonia to the Netherlands… So during my layover in Berlin I was sitting in a café running from one corner to another to find Wi-Fi connection. Eventually I failed to do so but then just asked someone to create a hotspot for me. In other words, you should never give up when facing challenges — otherwise, in my case, I would have spent my exchange on the street (laughing).

“Every time I look at the photos, my body fills up with love and warmth”
  • Overall, the application process is only a fly in the ointment, that you will remember with pleasure after the exchange. It is especially easy to be successful in the preparation if you know exactly what you want and what you expect from the exchange. Additionally, there will be many people who will be skeptical about your idea, so be sure to surround yourself with friends and family who will support you. It will make the process more enjoyable too.
    And do not forget to thoughtfully consider the culture, the climate of the host country, and the city you are planning to live in! It’s a big deal if you stay there for 6 months or more and if chosen carefully it will make you love every day of your life abroad.

Stage 3: in the Netherlands

The fascinating part came in the Netherlands! My phone memory was full, and it is definitely one of the indicators of a great lifetime.

“The whole period was full of events and exploration of different cultures”

Every time I look at the photos, my body fills up with love and warmth. From the start, my friend and I were kindly welcomed by other students in the dormitory, namely, they have helped us with our luggage and shared the food because at that time absolutely all shops were closed. Ever since and till the very end of the exchange students prepared the food of different cultures and shared it with other residents almost every evening on the terrace.
The time on the exchange was amazing also because from the very beginning I decided to reduce the study load I would otherwise have in TalTech. I wanted to meet new people, to get to know the country and travel and that is why the whole period was full of events and exploration of different cultures. From the first day, I joined the student organization ESN Rotterdam and participated in various introduction days, where we played golf, did photo-hunting in the city, sailed on a boat eating pancakes through Rotterdam waterways, and met with many new people. Later they became my friends with whom we stay in contact, exchange lovely postcards and get together when possible.

“Later they became my friends with whom we stay in contact, exchange lovely postcards and get together when possible”
  • Even when intensive studies started, life was full of adventures — every week we discovered new places in Rotterdam and the Netherlands in general. Just walking in the cities of the Netherlands was a pleasure because of their architecture! Also, it would be a pity not to visit neighboring countries, especially considering cheap tickets prices and discounts from ESN. Therefore France, Belgium, and Austria became our typical destinations. I would love to visit more, but studies were still in the first place.
“The semester abroad incredibly broadens horizons”

Value of exchange studies

It is important to highlight the main value of the exchange for your studies — the semester abroad incredibly broadens horizons, besides…

  • It allows obtaining the knowledge concerning your studies that you would probably never get in your country.
  • Moreover, you learn to see things from various angles, which is a base for competitiveness in the market.
  • Additionally, you can try out subjects that differ from what is offered in your curriculum back home, and it can influence your future and the understanding of what you want to do in your life. This happened to me in the Netherlands, when I deepened into the course on migration and then I understood it is something I want to devote myself to.
  • Finally, the best thing is the knowledge exchange — you bring something valuable to the host country and university , whereas they give you something back that will be useful not only in your personal life and career but that you can contribute to make the country you live in a better place.
“…the proximity of European institutions, which is always a dream coming true for a future official interested in policymaking”

Not only positive sides

On the other hand, you should not think that the exchange itself would be only a positive experience. Being alone in a foreign country makes its impact and at times you may feel lonely and miss your family and friends back home. Sometimes you will not be able to understand people, the educational system, and other things in the host country, because the culture differs from yours, or something can go as you do not expect.
Nevertheless it is important to remember that this is a part of the experience, which you will be grateful for later. The best option to handle everything is to be active, do what you like there, find different opportunities for self-development, socialize with locals, and join organizations both inside and outside the host university. Or find your own way to feel better. For example, I had moments when I felt tired from the novelty and then I went to nearby cities to have a long walk and enjoy gingerbread houses and somehow it always lifted my spirit.

Remember that it is YOU who decides how your exchange goes. You should know that the world and the people are open to you, the only thing you should do is to open yourself to them!

It is possible to write endlessly about Erasmus. To sum up, my experience was fantastic for professional and personal development. Erasmus has changed my vision of life and I truly recommend it to everyone. There were positive and negative sides, but there was much more of the first one. I experienced new emotions, learned things about other countries and the world, got to know the people, different nationalities and cultures, but the most significant is that I learned myself as a person, my dreams, and my goals. These are the things hard to understand in the comfort zone of your home and Erasmus is a perfect way to get out of it!

Learn more about exchange studies and full-degree programmes at Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech), become a part of TalTech community!

--

--

Svitlana Kharchenko
TalTech Blog

Immigrant and traveler. Info yoga and all things sustainable. Foreign languages and countries enthusiast.