From self-taught developer to tech leader: a journey of impact and growth

Chien Hoang
Tamara Tech & Product
2 min readMar 23, 2023

As a student at Ufa State Petroleum Technological University, I was determined to find my true calling. Little did I know that a simple introduction to tech would change my life forever.

The spark: Discovering the power of technology

It all began when I stumbled upon a friend’s online forum. My friend had created it himself, and I was fascinated. Despite being a petroleum engineering student with no website development experience, I begged my friend to teach me how to create and customize a website from scratch. This ignited my curiosity and fascination with technology, and I knew I had found my calling.

Unleashing the potential of technology: Exploring endless possibilities

What I love about technology is the endless possibilities it offers. With a computer and the right applications, you can automate tasks and solve complex problems. The constantly evolving nature of technology also means that there’s always something new to learn.

Making an impact: Using tech to improve lives

But what really drives me is the potential to improve people’s lives. Every project I work on, I ask myself: How can we use this technology to solve real problems? It’s incredibly rewarding to see how the solutions I’ve helped build have positively impacted people’s lives.

Navigating the tech world: Tips for aspiring developers

For aspiring developers, my advice is to focus on mastering a specific domain. By becoming an expert in a particular area, you can better understand how everything fits together and create more impactful solutions.

Mastering e-commerce and fintech: Creating solutions that matter

For me, that domain was e-commerce and fintech. These two areas are incredibly relevant to our daily lives and offer endless opportunities for innovation. By focusing on these domains, I’ve been able to create impactful solutions that have helped people around the world.

Tamara: My journey to building impactful solutions

Today, I work at Tamara, a company that is dedicated to creating solutions that matter. It’s incredibly fulfilling to see how our work has improved people’s lives. Working at Tamara has also been a constant challenge, pushing me to grow both personally and professionally.

Embracing challenges: The key to growth and impact

Looking back on my journey, it’s been an amazing experience. I never would have thought that a single introduction to the world of tech would lead me to where I am today. But by embracing challenges, focusing on impactful work, and constantly learning and growing, I’ve been able to make a difference in the world of technology.

--

--

Chien Hoang
Tamara Tech & Product

Tech Driven currently @Tamara an Unicorn Fintech startup 🦄