A Stoic Principles Reminder for Chrome

John van Saders
Tangibit Studios

--

I was thinking about time as an investment portfolio. Our time is allocated across various activities (the assets). These assets contribute a “return” to our happiness. Like financial assets, some provide a high return, while others might lead to a loss. It’s up to us to find the right set of assets for our time portfolio.

Philosophy examines how we should spend time to achieve a good life. In the portfolio analogy, philosophy can help us figure out the assets we need. From the rich pool of available philosophical approaches. Stoicism’s principles align best to my values. So, I’d like to better align my activities (assets) with Stoic principles. Any tools that increase my awareness of this alignment are helpful.

We spend a lot of time using web browsers. So I was inspired by Chrome Extensions like Momentum and Stoikk that add value to the act of opening a new tab. I decided to learn how to create a Chrome Extension to help remind me of Stoic principles.

The result is Zeno:

Example of a new tab in Zeno

Zeno displays a Stoic principle along with a relevant quote in new tabs. For me, a tersely summarized principle is a better aid to mindfulness. The various supporting quotes give depth to interpretation of the principles. It also keeps them from becoming routine (and eventually unseen).

You can add the Zeno extension to Chrome from the Chrome Web Store:

I hope you find Zeno useful!

--

--