A Delicious, Healthy, Plant-Based Breakfast

Tamara
TangleBug
Published in
2 min readSep 25, 2020

After setting our 4 categories of goals, some of you said you were interested in learning how to make healthy, plant-based meals. I thought I would share one of my favorite healthy breakfast options.

Sweet Potato Breakfast Salad

Sweet Potato Breakfast Salad, Photo by Tamara

Why I love it:

I love the versatility of this meal, as long as you have a sweet potato on hand you can mix it up and use practically any grain or dried fruit to give it texture and flavor. This meal is also quite filling. I will often make up multiple batches at a time and keep it in the fridge to eat throughout the week.

You will need:

  • 1 sweet potato or yam (baked at 425 for 45 min-1 hour or until center is soft when stabbed with a fork)
  • 1 apple
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • A dash of nutmeg

Optional additional toppings:

  • A small handful of raisins
  • A small handful of pumpkin seeds (shelled)
  • A handful of your favorite whole grain cereal (Oatmeal, 5 or 9 grain cereal, cheerios, bran flakes, puffed rice, museli)
  • 1 TBS flax seed
  • Sweetener to taste (I prefer pure maple syrup if I use any, but you can use honey or sugar as well)

Directions:

  • Chop your sweet potato, apple and banana, stir all ingredients together in a bowl until well combined and enjoy!

I usually make a double batch and snack on it throughout the week ’cause it’s so yummy! Let me know if you make it and what toppings you included.

How did it turn out?

If you’d like to talk about your favorite plant-based meals, leave a comment below!

--

--

Tamara
TangleBug

Talking about all life’s tangles as a mom, daughter, and friend here on Medium and over at TangleBug.com