PLANT-BASED EATING

Delicious, Plant-Based Spaghetti Sauce

A quick and easy recipe to throw together and it’s absolutely delicious.

Tamara
TangleBug

--

A plate of plant-based spaghetti sauce served over spaghetti noodles.
Plant-based spaghetti sauce

Eating plant based can be hard at first, and it helps to have some easy go to recipes in your back pocket for one of those days where you are on the run. I love this recipe because it is quick, easy and delicious. I also love this recipe because I have a house full of picky eaters. I can make this sauce and know that even if my kids won’t eat it, they will at least eat the noodles. Everyone gets a full tummy and I am not upset about a bunch of wasted food. Win Win right?

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do!

Preparation time: 35 min

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • (3) 14oz cans diced tomatoes
  • (1) medium onion diced
  • (3) cloves garlic minced
  • (2) tsp fennel seeds
  • (1) Tbsp oregano
  • (2) tsp Basil
  • Salt to taste (I use at least a teaspoon)

How to prepare it:

Saute onion and garlic in 2 TBSP water until onion is translucent. Add water 1 Tbs at a time to keep onion from sticking to the pan. Add tomatoes, fennel, oregano, basil and salt.

Let simmer until sauce thickens. I usually simmer for about 30 minutes, but if I am in a hurry I take it off in as little as 15. The longer you simmer the thicker your sauce will be (some people will let this simmer for 45 minutes to an hour, I’m just not that patient.

Serve over your favorite pasta. I like this the most over spaghetti noodles or Penne pasta.

Enjoy!

Let me know your favorite recipes

--

--

Tamara
TangleBug

Talking about all life’s tangles as a mom, daughter, and friend here on Medium and over at TangleBug.com