Is the World Caving in Around You?

Tamara
TangleBug
Published in
4 min readSep 27, 2020

--

It seems like everyone I know right now is having a compounding of hardships all at the same time. Loss of jobs, sick loved ones, fear of the unknown, it seems like the list can be unending and unnerving.

God knows all things. He knows when you are overwhelmed and when you are thriving. He is mindful of us and has blessings in store for us if we can find a way to turn our hearts to him and submit to his will.

Photo by nrd on Unsplash

I have had several experiences in my life that have felt overwhelming and unending. I have felt desperation and hope. I feel like I am going through waves of those feelings as I share this message with you.

The adversary is going to find every way to discourage and distract you. He wants you to feel afraid and miserable. He wants you to feel as though there is no hope and no way out.

Trust me, I know how hard it is to have faith when you feel like your walls of safety are caving in around you. Those barriers of protection that have given you security in the past are crumbling and you are trying to figure out what the next steps are.

The Lord wants us to know that everything is going to be ok, so long as we are being faithful to him and the commandments he has given us and keeping the covenants we have made with him.

What are some of these things that can bring us closer to our Father in Heaven and invite peace?

1. Where is God on your priority list?

First and foremost, it is important for you to consider where your Heavenly Father sits on your priority list. Evaluate that relationship and see what you can do to improve it.

2. Are you keeping the commandments?

I would encourage you to go and look over the 10 commandments. I have discovered in the past that sometimes I think I am doing a good job at keeping the commandments, but after a little consideration, I discover there are some aspects that I have completely looked over.

One that seems to repeat over and over is idleness. I have been caught in that trap on so many occasions. How often are we distracted by Facebook, Instagram or Netflix? This is only one of the 10 commandments.

3. Reach out to those around you.

Something else you can do is reach out to those around you. Is there anyone in need? I have made this mistake too. How often have I found myself suffering and deciding that I am the one in need of help and forgetting to do as Christ himself has asked “Feed my sheep”.

In the midst of trial, I have a tendency to hide within myself when I am struggling, and fail to reach out to those around me who might be having just as much difficulty if not more. When we reach out to our fellow man, our Heavenly Father blesses us. He opens up the windows of heaven and pours out blessings of hope and encouragement upon our heads.

Take some time and think about how you can reach out and show love to the people around you. How can you reach out to your neighbors, friends and colleagues in these times of social isolation? How creative can you be?

4. Actively listen to the promptings of the Holy Ghost.

Next, are we really actually listening and being obedient to the promptings of the Holy Ghost? This has been my greatest mistake in life. Heavenly Father gives us divine direction if we can just be willing to be obedient to it. He wants us to be successful and happy in this life, even in the midst of trial and heartache. Be obedient to those promptings and you will more clearly see your path.

5. Hold on to what you know is true.

If nothing else, if all else fails, hold on to what you know to be true. Don’t allow these feelings of fear and discouragement make you to forget the truths that have been so precious to you in the past. God is still there. He still loves you and he still wants you to come home.

There is hope and happiness ahead. Hang in there. Turn to God. Trust him.

Sending my love and prayers.

How can I help? Let me know in the comments.

~Tamara @tanglebug

--

--

Tamara
TangleBug

Talking about all life’s tangles as a mom, daughter, and friend here on Medium and over at TangleBug.com