Technology Tutorial:

How to make a Meme:

Sara DiRezze
Tank, I Need a Program
2 min readJul 3, 2019

--

When initially presented with the task to make a meme I was unsure on how to do this. In today’s society, memes are so popular, I thus feel like this is a good skill to know. I initially had trouble finding a free phone app and also finding an easy app to use. So below I will share my preference, as I have had no problems with this app! I am very good at using my iPhone, and feel like much of this generation also has great confidence in their phone use. This app allows the whole creation of the meme on the phone, then you can easily send it to other means to further upload it to a computer.

Step 1:

Download a meme-creator app to your phone. I use an iPhone and the app that works best for me is “MemeGenerator”.

Step 2:

Find a photo you want to use. Either one existing in your camera roll or take a new photo and SAVE it to your camera roll.

Step 3:

In the top right corner of the app is a “plus” symbol. Click that. It will allow you to choose a photo from your library.

See here the “plus” icon in the top right corner, click it to begin the Meme process.

Step 4:

Choose the photo you would like to use.

Once you hit the “plus” icon, you can then proceed to either take a photo or choose a pre-existing photo in your library.

Step 5:

Now there is a few sections to enter text, either in the “Upper text” or “Bottom text” columns. Allowing text to go on the top and bottom of the photo.

I chose a photo here, and entered text into the top “Upper text” bar.

Step 6:

Hit the “Share” icon in the bottom right corner. From there you can save the image, email it to yourself, print it, etc.

Upon clicking the “Share” icon, this comes up. I typically save the image, this way it saves to my camera roll on my phone. I then email it to myself, as for this class, I need to upload my creation to various websites which needs to be done on a computer!

There you are.. a Meme is created and saved!

--

--