Image from Niek Verlaan on Pixabay — text added using Pixlr

Newsletter | Community

Clapping Your Way to Success

A reciprocal way to grow your following with claps…

Tantalizing Tales
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

4 min readMay 7, 2023

--

What drew me to writing on Medium? It’s a question I sometimes ask myself…

The answer is that I wanted to become part of a community: By finding good writing allies, and making new connections with like-minded writers.

I was invited by two good authors whose work I knew to write some pieces for their online magazine. Not the sexy stories for which I was better known, but discussion pieces with sexuality as the theme.

So I learned how to write a piece in Medium’s format (fairly easy because I knew WordPress and could google questions) and they reviewed it and pressed publish. Later I signed up for a Medium account so I could read other writers’ work. That’s when I learned about commenting, and clapping (as a newbie I would leave 1 clap, never guessing I could give 50 as often as I wanted).

Later I worked out that highlights were a good indicator of reader engagement. About the same time, I discovered I could earn money by signing up for the partner program and setting my stories to ‘metered’. By this point, I was writing for publications other than my friends’. I had found new writers and vice…

--

--

Tantalizing Tales

Writing original Fiction * Romance* Relationships* Erotica* Edits Teaser Tales For early access Subscribe to Ream https://reamstories.com/posy_churchgate