Lizzie’s Quad: l-r Kimberley Long, Lizzie Waterson, Michael Freestone, and Christopher Bird (Hero Forge creation)

Fantasy | Magic

Lizzie’s Hell

Something Elizabeth the Witch learned in school…

Robert Barry
Tantalizing Tales
Published in
3 min readJun 10, 2024

--

I glared angrily at Miss Smith. We were told that our year mistress was the scariest teacher in the school, but I’d had enough.

“First they tell me I’m a witch, then they tell me I can’t use that word. They send me to this school where we have to wear green like we are ruddy Robin Hood, and now you tell me I have to hold a boy’s hand? What kind of Hell is this?”

A deathly silence fell on the classroom. Miss Smith was not amused.

“Lizzie Waterson, as I told the class, you and the three other students at your table are your quadrate or quad. Each of you is sensitive to one of the four elements. Together you can work magic with greater power and efficacy than you would alone. Michael is an Earth sensitive, and all of you will feel his strength as you conjure, especially you; Christopher is Air, who feeds Fire; and Kimberly is Fire, whose power you will all call upon. Your quad will become like your family for your time at this school, and possibly beyond.”

Miss Smith walked over to her desk. I concentrated hard at the back of her head. She stopped and looked around.

“Lizzie, I believe that you used some of your gifts to put fear into the other students at your old school. You should know it will never work on me or any students here after they have been trained. However, do try it now on one of the other students.”

I looked at her suspiciously, then I concentrated on a girl at one of the other two tables.

“Is anyone feeling afraid,” asked Miss Smith after a short while. The girl put her hand up.

“I’m not afraid, Miss Smith, but my cousin is a Water sensitive so I can tell when they are trying to put emotions into me.”

All the class laughed. I was so humiliated, for they were laughing at me.

“Okay Lizzie, now hold hands with your quad and try it on someone else.”

I was so depressed I finally complied and held hands with the two boys at my table, Michael and Christopher. They in turn held hands with Kimberley, who did not complain at all. Instantly I felt a surge of strength and power as the circle was formed. I discreetly looked at a boy on another table and worked on him with everything I had. Almost immediately he started crying.

I laughed. I laughed with joy to see those tears. I looked at Miss Smith, and she gave me a little smile.

Fifteen years later.

“Why have you brought us to the Hell Dimension, Lizzie?” Michael bellowed as the fire blasts went over our heads.

“It’s Elizabeth!” I screamed. My quad were the only people in the Multiverse that could survive calling me Lizzie. My thesis research had brought us to another Realm, travel provided by my dragon friend Emrys. It was the Realm of Warriors, also called the Hell Dimension, filled with Dragon-demons and Dragon-elves, all very warlike with big horns and excessively annoyed with us.

“Fire is useless against them!” Kimberly called. “We need more fear and ice spears!”

“Hold my hand!” I screamed, and we all reached out. I focussed hard and sent waves of fear and ice spears at the horned locals, and they retreated.

“Quick!” I shouted, and we all dashed for the cave. With a blink and a whoosh we were miles away standing next to Emrys the Dragon.

“Hey,” said Michael. “Remember that first day at school when you wouldn’t hold my hand?”

“Shut up,” I told him.

--

--

Robert Barry
Tantalizing Tales

Archaeology is my day job, but in the dark of night I write Fantasy and Science Fiction stories in my secret lair, and occasionally dream of being a Hobbit...